Neal Pattman – Prison Blues (1999)

Neal Pattman – Prison Blues (1999)



1/ Momma Whoopin'Blues
2/ Catfish Blues
3/ Shortnin' Bread
4/ Talkin' Bout You Baby
5/ Market Blues
6/ Neal's Testimony
7/ Prison Blues
8/ Disco Twist
9/ Goin' Back To Georgia
10/ Five Long Years
11/ Bottle Up And Go
12/ Oklahoma City Blues
13/ I Want Jesus To Walk With Me
Musicians: Neal Pattman - harp, vocals Taj Mahal

Musicians: Neal Pattman - harp, vocals Taj Mahal - banjo, bass, piano Mudcat - guitar Jim Ripp - guitar Mark Levinson - bass Timothy Duffy - guitar, producer Cootie Stark - guitar, vocals Lee Konitz - saxophone

Recording may be a relatively new luxury to Neal Pattman, but in life he is a grizzled veteran. His first album is a stark affair, almost an eavesdrop into a backroom rehearsal. A frisky harp player and singer, Pattman is joined by Taj Mahal and labelmate Cootie Stark on over half the album, and together and in various configurations the trio turns out some fine, jaunty country blues. There are, however, a number of clumsy stabs at testimonial blues, and these diminish the appeal of the album as a whole. In fact, everything has a clumsiness about it, and when it swings in favor of the musicians, it can be quite charming. When it doesn't, though, it can come off as plain gawky. ---Jim Smith, Rovi

download: uploaded anonfiles mega 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu

Neal Pattman – Prison Blues (1999)

<u>back</u>