Blues The best music site on the web there is where you can read about and listen to blues, jazz, classical music and much more. This is your ultimate music resource. Tons of albums can be found within. Tue, 09 Aug 2022 09:52:35 +0000 Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management en-gb Roy Book Binder ‎– The Good Book (2013) Roy Book Binder ‎– The Good Book (2013)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	The Good Book 	3:19
2 	It Coulda Been Worse 	2:05
3 	Step Right Up 	2:17
4 	Full Go Around 	2:40
5 	Poker Playin' Papa 	3:51
6 	Crazy About You 	2:11
7 	What You Gonna Do 	4:10
8 	They Called Him Junior 	3:26
9 	Electric Cigarette Blues 	2:34
10 	Hacksaw 	2:02

Bass – T-Bone Hamilton
Clarinet – Frank Bowman
Harmonica – Erik Bergene
Lap Steel Guitar – Damon Fowler
Percussion – Alex Hall, Glenn Evans
Producer, Words By, Music By, Guitar, Vocals – Roy Book Binder


This is Roy Book Binder's first all original song, studio album in many years! Featuring guitar, clarinet, stand-up bass, percussion and special guest Damon Fowler on lap steel...Is it midnight in Paris 1935? Or Texas in 1940? It swings and it's hot! Roy Book Binder's new CD is no doubt his best! It has been a long journey for the artist who first recorded for the Blue Goose label back in the late 1960's after being discovered at a Gaslight Cafe hootenanny in Greenwich Village! Over the years, Book Binder has slowly developed from an interpreter of his heroes' blues to a songwriter whose own compositions have been recorded by such luminaries as Jorma Kaukonen, Vidar Busk, and most recently by Ann Rabson & Bob Margolin. Not since Jerry Douglas produced his first Rounder CD Bookeroo in 1988 do we find Roy in the company of such a fine ensemble of musicians..... and he sure takes to it! This music tells the story of a man who has lived "the life" for over 40 years and has enjoyed every day of it! The Book and his cohorts are having fun and you're bound to feel the same when you hear this new music.... Plenty of fingerpickin' guitar, wailing clarinet, stand-up bass, drums and even some hot lap steel guitar by special guest, Damon Fowler. The title song "The Good Book" reminds listeners about the simple lessons we learned as youngsters. "Step Right Up" is a reminisce about Roy's medicine shows friends and their days in the business. Hacksaw Harney, who stayed with Roy in NYC, inspired the instrumental piece "Hacksaw". The song, "They Called Him Junior", recalls the life of Robert Lockwood. With this new all original CD, Roy fulfills one of his dreams! Hope you enjoy! --- Editorial Reviews,


Roy Book Binder was born October 5, (Queens, New York), in 1943 is a laconic living treasure of American Blues, Ragtime and Old Timey music. He is the epitome of the singing, song writing, storytelling Bluesman troubadour. Binder from the early sixties became a student and friend of the Rev. Gary Davis and it was from these early days he became equally at home with Blues and Ragtime. He is known to shift from open tunings to slide arrangements set to his original and sometimes quirky tongue in cheek compositions, with both traditional and self-styled licks, drawing on many musical influences. He combines his Blues with Hokum, Dixie Jazz licks, Yas Yas styling's, recited lines, Old Timey acoustic Hill Country music with ease. It is this storey telling style that he is renowned for. Binder is much revered and has shared the stage with a luminary of some of the biggest Roots artists around the world. He also is a guitar teacher of note and most of his compositions relate back to his time as chauffeur and companion to Rev. Gary Davis. With his latest release Book Binder once again delivers just what he does best. ""The Good Book"" on Binder's own label Peg Leg Records presents 10 quality self penned compositions all delivered in his laconic style.

All compositions have been composed by Book Binder and it shows in their wonderful smile inducing delivery. You cannot listen to this cd and not want to get up and jig or take up a jug and blow your heart out. The playing is an absolute highlight that just may encourage you to drag out that old guitar of yours. It may be a modern recording but it is one truly rooted in the twenties and thirties and as such highlights a rollicking style of music neglected in our high paced world.

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett bayfiles



]]> (bluesever) Roy Book Binder Sun, 28 Jul 2019 14:15:00 +0000
Roy Book Binder – Hillbilly Blues Cats (1994) Roy Book Binder – Hillbilly Blues Cats (1994)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. She Did You A Favor
2. Babe, I Want You To Know
3. Anywhere You Go
4. Tired Of Bein' Mistreated
5. Over To My House
6. One Meatball
7. T-man Blues #2
8. Talks All Over Town
9. Statesboro Blues
10. Won't You Be Kind
11. I Got Mine
12. Mississippi John

Roy Book Binder - guitar, vocals
Billy Ochoa - bass
Rock Bottom - harmonica


A solid, if a bit uninspired, effort, The Hillbilly Blues Cats teams Book Binder with harp player Rock Bottom and bassist Billy Ochoa. Together the trio make their way through oft-forgotten blues chestnuts such as "One Meatball" and "Tired of Bein' Mistreated," as well as the occasional Binder composition thrown in for good measure. A talented guitarist who studied under Rev. Gary Davis and Arthur "Big Boy" Crudup, Binder's music on this album suffers the fate of many modern day blues traditionalists -- that is, allowing the audience to ask the question "Why not just listen to the original?" Recording a song like "Statesboro Blues," which everyone from the Allman Brothers to Taj Mahal have done better, only furthers the point. Though he is a fine reproducer of old-time country blues, on Hillbilly Blues Cats Binder has yet to find the key to making his music sound like more than just a reproduction. ---Steve Kurutz, Rovi

download:   uploaded anonfiles mega gett 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu


]]> (bluesever) Roy Book Binder Wed, 15 Sep 2010 14:27:52 +0000