Blues The best music site on the web there is where you can read about and listen to blues, jazz, classical music and much more. This is your ultimate music resource. Tons of albums can be found within. Fri, 07 Oct 2022 11:52:36 +0000 Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management en-gb Larry Howard ‎– Sanctified Blues (1986) Larry Howard ‎– Sanctified Blues (1986)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	Sanctified Blues 	
2 	Lost Ship 	
3 	Love Ain't What You Say 	
4 	Cool Rain 	
5 	I Gave Jesus My Blues 	
6 	Shuffle On Home 	
7 	One Night 	
8 	Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven 	
9 	Friend In Jesus 	
10 	Sanctified Blues

Backing Vocals – Ava Aldridg, D. Bergen White, Cindy Richardson, Dorothy Moore, Lisa Silver, Wendy Suits
Bass – David Hood (3, 4), Ed Cain (8), Michael Joyce, Michael Rhodes (1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 10)
Drums – Eddie Bayers (1, 2, 5, 6, 9, 10), James Stroud (7), Roger Hawkins (3, 4), Willie Smith (8)
Guitar – Larry Byrom (4), Steve Gibson (7)
Harmonica – Buddy Greene (2)
Horns – Charles Rose (7), Don Sheffield (7), Harvey Thompson (7), Jim Horn (7)
Keyboards – Kenny Smith (8), Mitch Humphries (7), Randy McCormick (2, 4 to 6)
Lead Guitar – Jimmy Nalls (8), Larry Byrom (3), Larry Howard (1, 2, 5, 6, 10)
Lead Vocals – Larry Howard
Piano – Randy McCormick (9)
Rhythm Guitar – Jimmy Nalls (1, 2, 10), Larry Byrom (3), Larry Howard (1, 2, 5, 8, 10)
Saxophone – Elbert Durham (8), Jim Horn (2, 5), Ronnie Eades (3, 4)
Slide Guitar – Jimmy Nalls (6)
Synthesizer – Randy McCormick (1 to 4, 6, 9, 10)
Vocals – Bob Bailey (1, 10), John Whittaker (1-10), Larry Howard (1, 10), Robin Johnson (1, 10) 


Larry Howard's life has been spent learning, playing, and recording music. He began his recording in 1967, nearly 40 years ago. but his lifetime of music began long before he entered his first recording studio. "In my early years I played a lot of big band swing music," Howard says recounting his early years. "When I was 14 I had the opportunity to play with Count Basie at the University Of Miami music school for six weeks. I love that style of music. I did my first recording for a production company in 1967," Howard continues. "Then I did some regional stuff in Florida. Then I hooked up with Dru Lumbar (Guitar And Vocals), Joe Dan Petty (Bass) and Ricky Burnett (Drums). Together we Formed Grinderswitch. We were a southern rock and blues band and we toured with most if not all the great southern rock and blues bands, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Allman Brothers, Charlie Daniels Band, Marshall Tucker, BB King, Freddy King, Papa John Creach, and many more. In 1979 Grinderswitch had run their course and the members went off in separate directions. "In 1980 I became a Christian," Howard states matter-of-factly. "I came off the road for four years and worked a job. I devoted my time to being in church and being under sound preaching and studying the Bible. People kept telling me I needed to record an album but I kept telling them what I needed was get my family and my life together." In 1984 Howard had the chance to meet Christian Music pioneers Bob MacKenzie and Ray Nenow who owned Refuge Records. "Bob heard a song I had written called 'I Gave Jesus My Blues'. Bob said, "Anyone who can use the words Jesus and blues in the same sentence is going to do a record for me." "In 1984 I started recording again," Howard continues, "I did two records with Refuge Records, 'Shout' and 'Sanctified Blues.' Radio stations are still playing a song off 'Sanctified Blues' called "Cool Rain". That came out in 1986." From 1987 until 1995 Howard released six albums. The first, "Into The Light" ended up being a European only release. Then Howard signed to Forefront and released the studio album 'Redeemed' followed by a live album, 'Larry Howard's Cornerstone Blues Jam.' Howard finished up his time with Forefront with the release of 'Bright Side of the Blues.'He also recorded several more releases including "American Roots" featuring Charlie Daniels, Jimmy Nalls,and The Charlie Daniels Band, and "Into The Night" a live trio recording with Glen Kasier and Darrell Mansfield.

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto solidfiles global-files



]]> (bluesever) Larry Howard Thu, 25 Oct 2018 11:02:17 +0000
Larry Howard - American Roots (1998) Larry Howard - American Roots (1998)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	Boogie Man 	2:56
2 	You Got To Pray 	3:58
3 	Achin' In My Side 	4:16
4 	Real Miracle Man 	5:22
5 	In His Eyes 	4:36
6 	Fire Proof 	3:57
7 	Livin' In Eternity 	4:09
8 	The River 	4:28
9 	Cover Me 	4:24
10 	Blessed With The Blues 	4:05

Larry Howard – vocals, guitars
Charlie Hayward – bass
Dru Lombar, Jimmy Nalls, Jimmy Nalls – guitar
Taz DiGregorio – organ (Hammond B3)
Jack Gavin – drums, percussion
Charlie Daniels – vocals, guitar (1,3)
Joe Dan Petty – bass (5)
Steve Barnes – mandolin (7)
Bill Barnes, Cricket Choir, Harvest Cathedral Choir, Twin Pines Frog – backing vocals


Backed by the incomparable Charlie Daniels Band, former Grinderswitch guitarist and singer Larry Howard delivers an uplifting collection of modern-day gospel songs. Some are set to rock, some to swamp boogie, and some are based on the blues. There's even a reggae tune, but the one underlying connector is the lyrical content. These are all songs of Christian faith and the love of Jesus Christ, delivered by one of the South's finest, and a former Capricorn Records stars.

The backing band here is pretty impressive. You may have heard of them. The Charlie Daniels Band? Yep. And they certainly put their collective heart and soul into the music as always.

Also appearing on the CD are former Grinderswitch bandmates, Dru Lombar and Joe Dan Petty, who add a very familiar sound to the beautiful "In His Eyes," featuring Lombar and Howard swapping off lead vocals. It is one of the many high points of the record. Bill Barnes, Steve Barnes, and Jimmy Nalls are all featured on the album, which kicks off with "Boogie Man," a rocking number that features a guest shot from Charlie Daniels on harmony vocals and guitar. The rocker, "Fire Proof," is excellent, as is the reggae laced "You Got to Pray" and the funky slow jam of "Living in Eternity." One of the best cuts on the record -- and mind you, there are no bad cuts -- is "Blessed with the Blues," which takes one of the most unique approaches to Christianity ever recorded. "The River" evokes vivid pictures of the late Toy Caldwell, with a real Marshall Tucker Band country rock sound. American Roots is a true original, filled with Southern rock & blues, while presenting a positive message of faith and hope. ---Michael B. Smith,

download (mp3 @320 kbs): yandex mediafire ulozto solidfiles global-files



]]> (bluesever) Larry Howard Tue, 01 Dec 2015 16:52:05 +0000