Blues The best music site on the web there is where you can read about and listen to blues, jazz, classical music and much more. This is your ultimate music resource. Tons of albums can be found within. Fri, 07 Oct 2022 11:30:57 +0000 Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management en-gb Terry Garland ‎– Out Where The Blue Begins (2001) Terry Garland ‎– Out Where The Blue Begins (2001)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	Dude Boy Boogie 	
2 	Dallas
3 	Poor Boy Blues 	
4 	Courtesy Of Love
5 	Champagne And Reefer
6 	Blues Fell This Morning 	
7 	Going Home 	
8 	Running Back To You
9 	Can't Be Satisfied
10 	My Baby Left Town 	
11 	Out Where The Blue Begins
12 	Dust My Broom 	

Terry Garland - Guitar (Acoustic, Baritone, Electric), National Steel Guitar, Vocals 
Mickey McPhillips - Sax (Baritone)
Richard Ray - Sax (Tenor) 
Mark Wenner - Harmonica 


Showing a deep knowledge and impeccable feel for traditional blues forms, Terry Garland's fourth album is an impressive step forward in his artistic evolution. Joined by Mark Wenner on harmonica, Garland's voice is taking on a weathered quality not dissimilar from that of John Hiatt's, adding another layer of authenticity to his already faithful sound. Still brimming with hypnotic slide playing and primitive foot stomping and positively attacking his National guitar in covers of Johnny Winter's "Dallas" and his original, "Blues Fell This Morning," Garland nonetheless doesn't get stuck in any one gear for too long. A mournful full horn section turns up on the smoldering "Courtesy of Love" and delicate vibes and trombone combine to make a gentle soul-groove cover of Sam Cooke's "Running Back to You." Still, Garland never strays too far from the seminal blues forms that he seems to radiate so effortlessly, never presuming he should write a new chapter in blues history, just happy to trace his finger along the best of the well-worn passages. ---Matt Fink, AllMusic Review


Terry Garland is widely known as a master slide and acoustic blues guitarist. Born in Johnson City, Tennessee, Garland traces his musical roots to such blues greats as Robert Johnson, Jimmy Reed, Blind Willie McTell, Howlin' Wolf and Lighten' Hopkins. He toured with rock, blues and R&B bands before releasing his first solo album, "Trouble in Mind", in 1991. His latest album, "Out Where the Blue Begins", was released in 2001 by Planetary Records. He is presently in the studio working on his next project. Terry currently resides in Richmond, Virginia. He tours throughout the USA, Europe and Japan.

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire cloudmailru gett




]]> (bluesever) Terry Garland Mon, 22 Jan 2018 12:36:37 +0000
Terry Garland - Whistling In The Dark (2006) Terry Garland - Whistling In The Dark (2006)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Get Bitchy [Garland, Montsinger, Olsen] (2:54)
02. Memo to Jo [Garland] (4:18)
03. The Hard Luck Blues [Garland] (3:45)
04. Too Much Blood [Garland] (4:16)
05. When You See Their Eyes [Garland] (4:58)
06. Jim Beam and the Bible [Garland, Weitzman] (5:08)
07. Stumbling in the Dark [Garland] (2:58)
08. Soapbox Saturday Night [Garland] (3:33)
09. Without You [Garland] (5:19)
10. Vacation Due [Garland] (4:44)
11. Walk with Me (Minnie's Song) [Garland] (3:10)

Terry Garland - Acoustic, Electric and National Steel Guitars, Vocals
Adrian Olsen - Percussion
Bruce Courson - Piano
David Owen - Bass
Butch Taylor - Piano
Mark Wenner – Harmonica


This 2006 release is the fifth from singer/songwriter/guitarist Terry Garland. It features nine original songs and two others that he had a hand in writing. Garland works the traditional themes of love, booze, current events and religion while displaying a knack for injecting subtle humor and fresh perspectives into the proceedings. He has a voice with some rough edges to it that fits the material quite well.

Garland is also an accomplished slide guitar player, particularly on “Hard Luck Blues”, which was recorded live in the studio. Terry lays down a driving guitar pattern to support his earnest vocal. That track is followed by the somber “Too Much Blood”, with Garland expressing his disgust with all of the violence in the world. Butch Taylor contributes some fine piano work in support. “Jim Beam & the Bible” describes the struggle between whiskey and salvation to a ringing guitar chord.

“Stumbling in the Dark” contains a frenzied guitar part that echoes the lyrical pondering of the gloom in the approaching darkness. But Garland can have fun as well, cranking up the tempo and fervently singing about his “Vacation Due”. He slows the pace down on the pretty ballad “Without You” that features some more outstanding piano, this time from Bruce Courson.

This is a solid recording from start to finish. Garland has crafted a strong batch of songs that reflect his view of the world. He presents the tunes in a variety of styles with his fine guitar work as the focal point. Add his engaging vocals to the mix and this one is worth a listen. --- Mark Thompson,


Terry Garland to obecnie jeden z mistrzów folkowego bluesa. Nic więc dziwnego, że na "Whistling in the Dark" dominuje akustyczne granie w starym stylu. Słychać wyraźnie, że w młodości Terry uczył się od najlepszych.

Są momenty, takie jak w "Memo to Jo", gdzie bluesowa chrypa Terry'ego zbliża się niemal do Jamesa Hetfielda z Metalliki. Innym razem dominujące na płycie brzmienia z Delty sprawiają, że przed oczami pojawiają się nam najlepsi czarnoskórzy śpiewacy.

Nie zmienia to jednak faktu, że Terry doskonale panuje nad nastrojem całej płyty. "Whistling in the Dark" to album dla miłośników takiego właśnie grania, którym nie obcy jest stary dobry Woody Guthrie czy Leadbelly. Jeżeli te ikony amerykańskiego folku nie są Wam obce, to powinniście odnaleźć się wśród zaprezentowanych tu utworów. ---Taclem,

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire zalivalka cloudmailru oboom uplea



]]> (bluesever) Terry Garland Sun, 24 Jan 2016 17:08:14 +0000