Texas Johnny Brown - Nothin' But The Truth (1998)

User Rating: / 2

Texas Johnny Brown - Nothin' But The Truth (1998)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 Cheatin' and Stealin'
2 There Goes the Blues
3 Your House, Your Home
4 Tender age, Gentle Woman
5 Strange Situation
6 Two Steps From the Blues
7 Once Was
8 Ain't no Way
9 No Part-Time Lover
10 Stand the Pain
11 Blue and Lonesome
12 Nothin' but the Truth, so Help Me John


The brassy, 12-track Nothin' but the Truth is the first recording by this former Duke/Peacock sideman to see the light of day in more than 40 years. Now in his mid-seventies, Texas Johnny Brown remains one of the more immovable veterans dotting the inexplicably low-key Houston blues landscape. And this spirited collection plays up Brown's dual strengths as a songwriter and entertainer. The album features 11 originals, a few done up in stylish big band threads à la B.B. King -- the sort of simmering, sophisticated grooves that straddle the fence between juke-joint wailing and nightclub-slick rhythm & blues. The most memorable moments on Nothin' tend toward R&B's staunch reliance on structure, melody, and spot-on production values. The insistent toe-tappers "Your House, Your Home" and "Stand the Pain" and the keyboard-drenched "Blue and Lonesome" are easily among Brown's best. --- Hobart Rowland, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire uloz.to cloudmailru uptobox ge.tt