Blues The best music site on the web there is where you can read about and listen to blues, jazz, classical music and much more. This is your ultimate music resource. Tons of albums can be found within. Fri, 28 Jan 2022 03:15:58 +0000 Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management en-gb Big Wolf Band - Be Free (2019) Big Wolf Band - Be Free (2019)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Walk In My Shoes 03:20
02. Better Man 03:40
03. Nobody's Home 03:46
04. Be Free 03:50
05. Loving Like A Fool 04:32
06. Keep Fighting Back 04:06
07. Heavy Load 05:10
08. I Don't Live For Tomorrow 03:13
09. Never That Easy 03:49
10. Looking In Your Eyes 03:46
11. Sweet Talking 03:29
12. Super Animal 02:45
13. Just Can't Find You 06:29

Zoe Green - Vocals
Jonathan Earp - Guitars, Backing Vocals
Mick Jeynes - Bass
Paul Brambani - Keyboards
Tim Jones - Drums


Big Wolf Band have been building themselves a big reputation in the UK and Europe for a few years now: I reviewed their debut album A Rebels Story from 2017 and was very impressed by it. I also remember the lead vocalist on the album was the excellent guitarist Jonathan Earp: fast forward a couple of years and Jon has taken a back seat and decided to do backing vocals with a brand new album and also a brand new singer Zoe Green, herself a stalwart of the blues scene; not only an incredible voice but it has created a totally new dynamic to the band, this collaboration of Jon and Zoe together in this band is like a marriage in heaven.

There are thirteen songs here with wonderful stories and a mix of all types of blues but with this duo it has bought a lot more soul to the band, Zoe and Jon just bounce off each other so well: his guitar skill complimenting her incredible vocal range and Zoe brings out the best in all of them.

The first song on the album WALK IN MY SHOES with the wonderful Hammond organ of Paul Brambini playing behind the rhythm section of Tim Jones’ hard and heavy drum beats and the humming bass of Mick Jeynes on the intro before the sound of Jon’s electric screams in and you get the first taste of Zoe’s great voice this lets you know straight away you are in for a treat.

BETTER MAN, NOBODYS HOME and the title track BE FREE are three brilliant blues rock numbers which showcase the full power of Zoe’s vocal and also nice harmonies with Jon, but best of all some blistering guitar solos from him.

The whole history of the blues can be heard on this, the Peter Green sound of LOVING LIKE A FOOL: one of my personal favourites, and the harmonizing is just superb, Cream and Clapton on HEAVY LOAD, you also hear Alvin Lee, Freddie King and even a bit of Hendrix later on in the album, but everything they play that dynamic vocal of Zoe gives each song its own individuality.

The thing I love about this band so much is the big combination of Guitar and keyboards it just sounds like they’re having a jam and enjoying every moment of, now with the addition of Zoe in the mix: well they were great live before when I saw them, but I just know now they are going to be sensational. If you like your blues old school, then go out and buy this to add your record collection.

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett bayfiles



]]> (bluesever) Big Wolf Band Sat, 13 Jul 2019 15:31:23 +0000
Big Wolf Band - A Rebel’s Story (2017) Big Wolf Band - A Rebel’s Story (2017)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Heaven's Got The Blues
2. Done Wrong By You
3. Hot Blooded Woman
4. Darkest Of My Days
5. Long Time Mary
6. Rolling With Thunder
7. One More Time
8. A Rebel's Story
9. Been Here Too Long
10. Love That Hurts
11. I Don't Love You
12. Love Isn't Free
13. If I Ever Loved Another Woman

Jonathan Earp – vocals, guitar
Paul Brambani - keybords
Mick Jeynes – bass guitar
Tim Jones – drums


The Big Wolf Band hail from the Birmingham area and bring us their exciting debut album 'Rebel's Story' in their classic electric blues style. Fronting the band on excellent vocals and guitar, is the master of the strings Jonathan Earp. Joining him on bass is Mick Jeynes with Paul Brambani on keys and Tim Jones on drums. Guests on the album were Deano Bass on bass and Emma Jonson on piano, with Pete and Deb Harvey on backing vocals. The album was produced by Mark Stuart, Sheena Sear and Jonathan Earp and all the numbers were self penned.

The first track 'Heaven's Got The Blues', is a steady rocky blues with great vocals and keys input, plus a classic guitar solo. This is followed by a well put together blues shuffle, 'Done Wrong By You'. There is plenty of fine guitar work on the next track 'Hot Blooded Woman', an up tempo blues shuffle with strong vocals. The piano and Hammond work well, along with the solid back line of bass and drums.

Slowing the pace with a beautifully put together track, 'Darkest Of My Days', with haunting guitar work and piano working well, adds to this well sung number with excellent lyrics. Next another classic blues shuffle, 'Long Time Mary' with some great honky tonk piano.

'Rolling With Thunder' gives us some powerful electric blues and I love the piano solo on this one. Bringing in a Hammond drenched rocky number 'One More Time', a foot tapping number leaning towards Americana with a superb rocky guitar solo on this one.

Continuing to rock it up on 'A Rebels Story' . Then a really well done meaty track 'Been Here Too Long' . Plenty of Hammond, piano and earthy guitar on an up tempo number 'Love That Hurts', with a flavour of Americana.

The train is certainly on its way on 'I Don't Love You'. Solid drumming and superb piano with added wah wah on the guitar, gives this number a great sound. Moving towards southern rock, on the penultimate track 'Love Isn't Free. An interesting track with the Hammond at the fore.

The final track on this excellent album 'If I Loved Another Woman', a beautifully put together slow blues with superb vocals. The guitar was certainly in the vein of Peter Green, showing the competence of guitar man Jonathan Earp, a lovely number. The whole album was a good listen and well mastered. With a group of great musicians you can't really go wrong, so it's a 'well done' to The Big Wolf Band for the debut album. --- Rosy Greer,

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire cloudmailru uplea



]]> (bluesever) Big Wolf Band Wed, 31 May 2017 14:03:36 +0000