Irma Thomas - The New Rules (1986)

Irma Thomas - The New Rules (1986)



1. The New Rules 2. Gonna Cry 'Til My Tears Run Dry 3. I Needed Somebody 4. Good Things Don't Come Easy 5. The Love Of My Man 6. One More Time 7. Thinking Of You 8. The (Hero) Wind Beneath My Wings 9. I Gave You Everything 10. Yours Until Tomorrow Irma Thomas (vocals); Joe Saulsbury, Jr. (vocals, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, tambourine); Guillermo Ladut, Leroy Aych (guitar); Bill "Foots" Samuel (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Lawrence Weber, Terry Tullos (trumpet); Craig Wroten (organ); Glenn Carvin (keyboards); Wilbert Widow (drums); Sharon Foster, Elaine Foster, Lisa Foster, E.L.S. (background vocals).

Irma Thomas balanced classic and contemporary sensibilities on this 1986 album. She did such songs as "Gonna Cry 'Til My Tears Run Dry" and "I Gave You Everything" from the 1960s, and also did more recent tunes, such as the title track and a good remake of "The Wind Beneath My Wings (Hero)." In the 1980s, there was little interest at urban contemporary stations in older, more soulful artists, and thus this worthy session got almost no attention outside New Orleans and the South. However, Irma Thomas can still sing with authority and quality. --- Ron Wynn, allmusic.com

download (mp3 @160 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett solidfiles hostuje

back