Muddy Waters & Otis Spann - Collaboration (1958)

User Rating: / 1

Muddy Waters & Otis Spann - Collaboration (1958)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	Long Distance Call 	4:59
2 	Baby Please Don't Go 	2:37
3 	I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man 	3:32
4 	Blues Before Sunrise 	5:47
5 	Rolling Stone 	4:13
6 	I Can't Be Satisfied 	3:06
7 	Blow Wind Blow 	4:04
8 	I Feel Like Going Home 	4:35
9 	Walking Thru The Park 	3:04
10 	Lovin' Stuff (Encore) 	1:35

Muddy Waters - guitar, vocals
Otis Spann - piano, drums
Backing Band – Chris Barber Band (tracks: 9, 10) 


Liner notes: Recorded at the Free Trade Hall, Manchester, Sunday October 26, 1958. This is the complete Muddy Waters Concert presented in performance order, total time 38.42, dubbed from the only existing acetate.

Muddy Waters was brought to England on tour by the Chris Barber band, who are heard at the end of the album. Chris Barber was responsible for first bringing many Bluesmen to England and generally found that they preferred to have the band backing them. This concert was one of the few occasions when the Barber band was able to persuade the bluesmen to play on their own some of the time.


This is the same package as one earlier released in England. It's Muddy with Otis Spann, playing England's Manchester Free Trade Hall in 1958 with the Chris Barber Jazz Band backing them. The Tomato version adds "Long Distance Call" and "Baby Please Don't Go" to the original ten-song lineup; overall, the sound is still rough, taken from the original -- and existing -- acetate. Muddy's guitar was deliberately turned down for this concert, making him nigh to inaudible, but he's in fine voice and Spann fills in all the missing holes nicely. Not essential, but an interesting sidebar to his recorded legacy. ---Cub Koda, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett