Written by bluesever Friday, 30 October 2009 10:56 - Last Updated Tuesday, 02 July 2013 12:45

Sonny Boy Williamson II – Keep It Ourselves (1963)



1. Sky Is Crying, The 2. Slowly Walk Close to Me 3. Once Upon a Time 4. Don't Let Your Right Hand Know 5. Movin' Out 6. Coming Home to You Baby 7. I Can't Understand 8. Same Girl 9. Gettin' Together 10. Why Are You Cryin? 11. Girl Friends 12. When the Lights Went Out Personnel: Sonny Boy Williamson II - Composer, Harmonica, Vocals Memphis Slim - Composer, Piano, Vocals Matt "Guitar" Murphy - Guitars Billy Stepney – Drums

An intimate 1963 collection of Sonny Boy Williamson in solo and duet (with guitarist Matt Murphy) formats; on three tracks, pianist Memphis Slim hops aboard. This delightful addendum to Williamson's electric output of the same era was cut in Denmark and first issued on Storyville. ---Bill Dahl, Rovi

This is a surprisingly excellent recording for its age. The clarity is almost eerie - you can feel the connecting from lung to mouth to harmonica - a portrait in sound of a man's respiratory system! Okay, okay, that doesn't sound very appetizing, I know - but we're not talking country music here. This is true down and dirty blues by one of the great bluesmen of all time. Sonny Boy plays as if the instrument were literally a part of his body (not an original observation, I admit, but I don't recall where I read it). It is the soul, of course, that gives this work its excitement and depth. The pairing up sessions with Matt Murphy and Memphis Slim are absolutely precious. If you play the harmonica or have an interest in starting a blues collection - this is a great place to begin. It was where I started - and for me the delicious heartbreak of blues music reverberates best with this superb recording. Highly recommendable. ---amazon.com

Sonny Boy Williamson II – Keep It Ourselves (1963)

Written by bluesever Friday, 30 October 2009 10:56 - Last Updated Tuesday, 02 July 2013 12:45

back