Classical The best music site on the web there is where you can read about and listen to blues, jazz, classical music and much more. This is your ultimate music resource. Tons of albums can be found within. Wed, 24 Apr 2024 23:01:27 +0000 Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management en-gb Goldschmidt - The Concertos (1997) Goldschmidt - The Concertos (1997)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Cello Concerto 	21:50
1 	I Andante Sostenuto – Quodlibet: Allegro 	9:28
2 	II Caprice Mélancolique 	4:55
3 	III Quasi Sarabande 	3:05
4 	IV Tarantella 	4:17

Yo-Yo Ma - cello
Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, Charles Dutoit

Clarinet Concerto 	19:41
5 	I Allegro Moderato 	8:36
6 	II Nocturne: Andante Tranquillo – 	5:41
7 	III Scherzo Finale: Allegro Giocoso 	5:22

Sabine Meyer - clarinet
Orchester der Komischen Oper, Berlin, Yakov Kreizberg

Violin Concerto 	25:32
8 	I Sostenuto – Allegro 	7:28
9 	II Andante Amoroso 	8:07
10 	III Gigue 	4:06
11 	IV Finale 	5:43

Chantal Juillet - violin
Philharmonia Orchestra, Berthold Goldschmidt


This is one of the recordings in Decca's outstanding "Entartete Musik" series, so-called "degenerate music" banned by the Nazis for being too modern or of Jewish origin. Goldschmidt was a promising young German-Jewish composer who escaped Nazism in 1935 and fled to England. His career languished until a revival of interest in his music began in the late 80s and early 90s. Fortunately he lived long enough to experience this revival.

I'd love to report that these three concertos are exciting additions to the modern repertory, but they don't quite achieve that status. Goldschmidt suffers from the disease of eclecticism: he tends to throw all kinds of stylistic influences into the mix, giving these compositions a "wandering" feel. Late Romanticism, Expressionism, even a bit of Baroque here and there--it's all tossed in. I think that Goldschmidt must have listened to a lot of Stravinsky, but that could just be me. The Violin Concerto stands out as the most successful work here. All performances are first-rate. ---Rollo Tomasi,

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mega mediafire solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru oboom



]]> (bluesever) Goldschmidt Berthold Fri, 15 May 2015 15:53:45 +0000