Classical The best music site on the web there is where you can read about and listen to blues, jazz, classical music and much more. This is your ultimate music resource. Tons of albums can be found within. Fri, 09 Jun 2023 07:25:06 +0000 Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management en-gb Julian Bream - Popular Classics For Spanish Guitar (1997/2006) Julian Bream - Popular Classics For Spanish Guitar (1997/2006)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	Heitor Villa-Lobos - Chôros No.1	4:48
2 	Heitor Villa-Lobos - Etude In E Minor	4:04
3 	Federico Moreno Torroba - Madroños	2:56

Joaquín Turina - Homenaje A Tárrega, Op. 69
4 	Garrotín 	2:05
5 	Soleares 	1:54

6 	Heitor Villa-Lobos - Prelude In E Minor	3:06

Isaac Albéniz - Suite Española, Op. 47
7 	Granada	5:14
8 	Leyenda (Asturias) 	5:53

9 	Manuel De Falla - Homenaje (Pour Le Tombeau De Debussy)	4:09
10 	Traditional - Canciones Populares Catalanas: El Testament D'Amelia	2:05
11 	Joaquín Turina - Fandanguillo	5:06

Julian Bream - guitar


Popular Classics for Spanish Guitar features the virtuosic Julian Bream at his interpretive best and an exemplary choice of repertoire, and it has been acknowledged as one of the all-time best guitar albums since its original LP release in 1963. That said, the sound of this super-audio digital remastering is hard to take. The original LPs were somewhat distant, but they were clean, honest, and present. On a conventional playback system, however, this remastering sounds so far off that it can hardly be said to be present in any meaningful way. One can hear Bream's strong, supple, and sensitive performances, but he sounds like he's playing somewhere deep inside a vast, empty cave. ---James Leonard, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett



]]> (bluesever) Julian Bream Wed, 31 Oct 2018 13:48:59 +0000
La Guitarra Barroca - Julian Bream (1994) La Guitarra Barroca - Julian Bream (1994)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Pavanas (Sanz) (04:00)
02. Galliardas (Sanz) (01:27)
03. Passacalles (Sanz) (02:55)
04. Canarios (Sanz) (01:22)
05. Villano (Guerau) (01:39)
06. Canario (Guerau) (01:16)
07. Prelude in D minor, BWV 999 (J.S. Bach) (01:38)
08. Fuge in A Minor, BWV 1000 (J.S. Bach) (05:30)
09. Passacaille (Weiss) (04:27)
10. Fantasie (Weiss) (02:03)
11. Tombeau sur le mort de M. Comte de Logy (Weiss) (06:03)
12. Suite In D Minor - Prelude (Visee) (00:59)
13. Suite In D Minor - Allemande (Visee) (01:48)
14. Suite In D Minor - Courante (Visee) (01:27)
15. Suite In D Minor - Sarabande (Visee) (01:54)
16. Suite In D Minor - Gavotte (Visee) (00:47)
17. Suite In D Minor - Menuets I and II (Visee) (02:49)
18. Suite In D Minor - Bourree (Visee) (00:42)
19. Suite In D Minor - Gigue (Visee) (01:17)
20. Aria Con Variazione Detta La Frescobalda (Fresobaldi) (05:29)
21. Sonata in E Minor, K.11 (D. Scarlatti) (04:02)
22. Sonata in E Minor, K.87 (D. Scarlatti) (02:30)
23. Sonata in C# Minor (D. Cimarosa) (03:05)
24. So nata in A(D. Cimarosa) (01:46)

Julian Bream – baroque guitar


The notes point out that a ‘Baroque’ guitar had 5 pairs of strings rather than the six single strings of the modern guitar. I have been unable to find a picture of Bream playing any type of guitar other than the modern 6-string instrument, and I assume that is what he is using for this disk. It is not surprising that some of the lute works have had to be transposed to be played on the modern guitar since the lute has a greater range than the guitar. The Bach tracks here are probably the best 6-string guitar performances of these works. Lindberg’s lute is a thinner sounding instrument and Lindberg is further from the microphone than Bream, whereas Junghänel is more closely miked and hence richer sounding. Paul Galbraith performing on an 8-string guitar is generally superior in sound, concept and clarity of articulation. Lindberg and Galbraith show the most imagination in improvising ornaments on repeats. Junghänel plays skilfully but without much emotion. Bream’s performance of the Sarabande of the e-minor suite is one of his finest recordings, one of the finest guitar recordings ever made, but Galbraith and Lindberg give him a close race. The lute disks and the Bream disk have some high frequency finger-scrape noises, whereas the Galbraith disks have none, and Galbraith’s sound is warmer in tone. Either Galbraith is a more articulate performer, or some electronic filtering has been applied to remove the noises.

The performances clearly show the genius of Weiss, friend of Bach, probably the greatest lute virtuoso of all time, from whom we have so little written music. The other works are all very interesting and worthy of their companions on this disk. ---Paul Shoemaker,

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire zalivalka cloudmailru uplea



]]> (bluesever) Julian Bream Tue, 05 Apr 2016 16:08:27 +0000