Anne-Sophie Mutter – Carmen Fantasie (1993)

User Rating: / 1

Anne-Sophie Mutter – Carmen Fantasie (1993)

01. Pablo de Sarasate - Zigeunerweisen Op. 20
02. Henryk Wienawski - Legende en sol mineur Op. 17
03. Giuseppe Tartini - Sonate g-moll "Teufelstriller-Sonate"
04. Maurice Ravel - Tzigane - Rapsodie de Concert pour Violon et Orchestre
05. Jules Massenet - Meditation aus "Thai's"
6-10. Pablo de Sarasate - Fantaisie de Concert sur des motifs de l'opera "Carmen", Op. 25
11. Gabriel Faure - Berceuse en re majeur Op. 16

Anne-Sophie Mutter – violin
Wiener Philharmoniker
James Levine – conductor


Anne-SophieMutter obviously had fun making this disc. In the quiet pieces (Massenet, Ysaÿe, Fauré) which serve as interludes, she plays with her usual exquisite taste. In the showpieces, though, she goes to town, sliding, scooping, exaggerating, and letting all the stops out. The gypsy inflection she uses in Ravel's Tzigane and Sarasate's Zigeunerweisen is delicious. Even a ridiculous orchestral arrangement of Tartini's Devil's Trill Sonata is more amusing than offensive. With James Levine and the Berlin Philharmonic providing uncommonly alert and powerful support, and Deutsche Grammophon's realistic sound, this disc is a real treat for violin lovers. --Leslie Gerber, Editorial Reviews

download:   uploaded anonfiles mega 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu


Last Updated (Monday, 29 July 2013 14:01)