Silvius Leopold Weiss - The Silesian Master of Lute (2008)

User Rating: / 1

Silvius Leopold Weiss - The Silesian Master of Lute (2008)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Sonata in F major
01.   Prelude
02.  Allemande
03.  Courante
04.  Bourree
05.  Sarabande
06.  Menuet I & II
07.  Gigue

08.  Tombeau sur la mort Baron d'Hartig

Sonata in D major
09. Prelude
10.  Allemande
11.  Courante
12.  Angloise
13.  Sarabande
14.  Menuet
15.  Gigue

16.  Capriccio in D major
17.  Ciacona in G minor

Jakob Lindberg – Lute


Swedish lutenist Jakob Lindberg began his studies on the guitar after being inspired by the music of the Beatles. His guitar teacher, Jörgen Rörby, introduced him to the lute, which he went on to study at Stockholm University and the Royal College of Music in London. His studies with Diana Poulton and Carlos Bonell in London further focused his interests on performing Renaissance and Baroque music on period instruments. Among the rare instruments he uses is one of the few extant lutes by Augsburg maker Sixtus Rauwolf (ca. 1595). He has made an extraordinary number of recordings for BIS, often presenting lute music that has never before been recorded. The repertoire he has championed includes lute music by Scottish composers; Italian music for the chitarrone; and chamber music by Vivaldi, Haydn, and Boccherini. He is the first lutenist to have recorded the complete solo lute music by John Dowland and he has received critical acclaim for his interpretations of Bach's music for solo lute. In 1985, he formed the Dowland Consort, specializing in music of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, particularly that of Dowland and Weiss. Lindberg has performed as a continuo player on the theorbo and arch lute with many of the most active period nstrument ensembles, including the English Concert, Taverner Choir, the Purcell Quartet, Monteverdi Choir, Chiaroscuro, the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, and the Academy of Ancient Music. He is a frequent collaborator with singers such as Emma Kirkby, Anne Sofie von Otter, Nigel Rogers, and Ian Partridge. For the Royal Swedish Opera at the Drottningholm Court Theatre, he has directed several Baroque operas from the chitarrone, including Purcell's Dido and Aeneas in 1995 (where he co-directed the production with Andrew Parrot) and Jacopo Peri's Euridice in 1997. Lindberg made his solo recital debut at the Wigmore Hall in 1978, and since then has toured Europe, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Australia, Canada, and the United States. He teaches at the Royal College of Music in London, where he succeeded Diana Poulton as professor of lute in 1979. Richard Popplewell's Variations on Brigg Fair for solo lute (1988) was composed for Lindberg. Later recordings include Weiss: The Silesian Master of Lute (2007) and Orpheus in England: Dowland & Purcell (2011). --- Robert Adelson, Rovi

download:  uploaded anonfiles mega 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu