Doris Drew - Delightful (1957)

User Rating: / 0

Doris Drew - Delightful (1957)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. I've Got The Sun In The Morning
02. Cabin In The Sky
03. There Will Never Be Another You
04. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
05. He's My Guy
06. Once You Find Your Guy
07. You And The Night And The Music
08. If I Should Lose You
09. I Only Have Eyes For You
10. I Cried For You			play
11. I Love You
12. 12. Something To Remember You 	play

Doris Drew - Vocal
Don Fagerquist - Trumpet
Herb Geller - Alto sax
Bob Enevoldsen - Valve trombone
Dave Pell - Tenor sax
Marty Paich - Piano, Celeste
Al Viola - Guitar
Max Bennett - Bass
Mel Lewis – Drums


Doris Drew, who appeared on television variety shows fairly regularly in the 1950s, only recorded this one jazz-influenced recording (a Mode set that has been reissued on CD by V.S.O.P.). Drew is joined by an octet that includes trumpeter Dan Fagerquist, altoist Herb Geller and tenor-saxophonist Dave Pell in addition to (on two-thirds of the songs) a string section. Pianist Marty Paich contributed the arrangements and there are spots for some short solos but it would have been nice to have heard Drew on a full set without the fiddles. This is a worthwhile reissue for Doris Drew had an appealing voice and a lightly swinging style. ---Scott Yanow, Rovi

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire mega solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru filecloudio oboom



Last Updated (Monday, 29 September 2014 20:10)