Julian Priester and Marine Intrusion - Polarization (1977)



1 Polarization - Rhythm Magnet - Wind Dolphin 22:10 2 Coincidence 3:33 3 Scorpio Blue 8:25 4 Anatomy Of Longing 9:32 Heshima Mark Williams - bass Augusta Lee Collins - drums Ray Obiedo - guitar Curtis Clark - piano Ron Stallings - sax Julian Priester – trombone

Julian Priester and his group Marine Intrusion produce sounds that are mostly polarized between gentle Europeanized reflections and probes into the avant-garde, all unified by the soft-focused, airy ECM sonic perspective. Priester does sound very much like J.J. Johnson in the forward thrust of his attacks, and his flutter effects bring back spaced-out memories of his work in the Herbie Hancock Sextet. The opening title track is a thoughtful overdubbed Priester duet with himself that empties directly out into "Rhythm Magnet," with Heshima Mark Williams' electric bass ostinato and relaxed Spanish-tinged piano by Curtis Clark. "Wind Dolphin" begins with a drum solo and soon becomes a series of gentle, then agitated free-form tumblings, all soothed by the ECM ambience. Welcome quantities of funky rhythmic instability and hard rock flash from guitarist Ray Obiedo enter the picture on "Anatomy of Longing." This is an often engaging record from a trombonist too seldom heard as a leader. ---Richard S. Ginell, Rovi

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

<u>uploaded</u> <u>yandex</u> <u>4shared</u> <u>mediafire</u> <u>mega</u> <u>solidfiles</u> <u>zalivalka</u> <u>cloudmailru</u> <u>filecloud</u> <u>oboo</u> <u>m</u>

Julian Priester and Marine Intrusion - Polarization (1977)

Written by bluesever Tuesday, 04 November 2014 16:37 -

back