Ida Cox & The Coleman Hawkins – Blues For Rampart Street (1961)

User Rating: / 0

Ida Cox & The Coleman Hawkins – Blues For Rampart Street (1961)

•  1  •  Wild Women (Don't Have the Blues) 
•  2  •  Blues for Rampart Street 
•  3  •  St. Louis Blues 
•  4  •  Fogyism 
•  5  •  Hard Times Blues 
•  6  •  Cherry Pickin' Blues 
•  7  •  Hard, Oh Lord 
•  8  •  Lawdy Lawdy Blues 
•  9  •  Death Letter Blues 
•  10  •  Mama Goes Where Papa Goes

Ida Cox – vocals
Coleman Hawkins – tenor sax
Roy Eldridge – trumpet
Sam Price – piano
Milt Hinton – bass
Jo Jones – drums


Classic blues singer Ida Cox had not recorded since 1940 nor performed regularly since the mid-'40s when she was coaxed out of retirement to record a date for Riverside in 1961. At 65 years old (some books list her as being 72), Cox's voice was a bit rusty and past its prime, but she still had the feeling, phrasing, and enough tricks to perform a strong program. With assistance from trumpeter Roy Eldridge, tenor saxophonist Coleman Hawkins, pianist Sammy Price, bassist Milt Hinton, and drummer Jo Jones (swing-era veterans who came up after Cox was already a major name), the singer does her best on such numbers as "Wild Women Don't Have the Blues," "Blues for Rampart Street," "St. Louis Blues," and "Death Letter Blues." Since she passed away in 1967, this final effort (reissued on CD) was made just in time and is well worth acquiring by 1920s jazz and blues collectors. ---Scott Yanow, Rovi

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire mega solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru filecloudio oboom



Last Updated (Monday, 24 November 2014 15:29)