Evanescence - Evanescence (2011)

User Rating: / 0

Evanescence - Evanescence (2011)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. What You Want (3:41)
02. Made of Stone (3:32)
03. The Change (3:43)
04. My Heart is Broken (4:29)
05. The Other Side (4:04)		play
06. Erase This (3:52)
07. Lost in Paradise (4:42)
08. Sick (3:29)
09. End of the Dream (3:49)		play
10. Oceans (3:36)
11. Never Go Back (4:26)
12. Swimming Home (3:43)

Amy Lee – keyboards, harp, vocals
Terry Balsamo – guitar
Will Hunt – drums
Tim McCord – bass guitar
Troy McLawhorn – rhythm guitar
Cello – Anja Wood, Claire Bryant, Dave Eggar 
Double Bass – Pete Donovan 
Violin – Claire Chan, Entcho Todorov, Maxim Moston, Michael Roth, Sarah Pratt, Suzy Perelman
Viola – Hiroko Taguchi, Jonathan Dinklage 


Difficult births are no stranger to Evanescence. Nothing ever quite seems to come easy for Amy Lee, yet the five years separating Evanescence’s 2006 sophomore effort The Open Door and its eponymous 2011 album were relatively quiet, the band undergoing some lineup changes -- not to mention a switch of producers, from Steve Lillywhite to Nick Raskulinecz -- but nothing comparable to the messy departure of Ben Moody between the group’s first two albums. Such comparative calm is reflected within the grooves of Evanescence, which is less tortured tonally even if it remains quite dramatic. Lee’s default mode is to sing to the rafters, her operatic bluster sometimes overbearing when her settings are gloomy, but Raskulinecz pulls off a nifty trick of brightening the murk, retaining all of the churning drama but lessening the oppression by brightening the colors and pushing the melody. While there’s hardly a danger of Amy Lee removing her thick mascara, she’s not pouting all the time; there’s some shade and light here, some variety of tempos, enough to give Evanescence the illusion of warmth, not to mention a fair share of crossover hooks. It’s aural candy for aging goths and tortured tweens alike. ---Stephen Thomas Erlewine, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to gett




Last Updated (Sunday, 25 February 2018 15:44)