## The Band - Moondog Matinee (1973)



- 01. Ain't Got No Home (Clarence "Frogman" Henry) 3:23
- 02. Holy Cow (Allen Toussaint) 3:20
- 03. Share Your Love (With Me) (Deadric Malone, Alfred Braggs) 2:53
- 04. Mystery Train (H.Parker Jr., Sam Phillips, adaptation by Robbie Robertson) 5:40
- 05. Third Man Theme (Anton Karas, W.Lord) 2:45
- 06. Promised Land (Chuck Berry) 3:00
- 07. The Great Pretender (Buck Ram) 3:10
- 08. I'm Ready (Fats Domino, Al Lewis, Sylvester Bradford) 3:25
- 09. Saved (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 3:45
- 10. A Change Is Gonna Come (Sam Cooke) 4:17

## Personnel:

- Rick Danko bass, rhythm guitar, vocals
- Levon Helm drums, bass, rhythm guitar, vocals
- Garth Hudson organ, piano, accordion, synthesizer, clavinet, tenor saxophone
- Richard Manuel acoustic and electric pianos, drums, vocals
- Robbie Robertson guitars

+

- Billy Mundi drums on "Ain't Got No Home" and "Mystery Train"
- Ben Keith pedal steel on "Promised Land"

The Band essentially went back to being the Hawks of the late '50s and early '60s on this album of cover tunes. They demonstrated considerable expertise on their versions of rock & roll and R&B standards like Clarence "Frogman" Henry's "Ain't Got No Home," Chuck Berry's "The Promised Land," and Fats Domino's "I'm Ready," but of course that didn't do much to satisfy the audience they had established with their original material and that, two years after the disappointing Cahoots, was waiting for something in the same league with their first three albums. ---William Ruhlmann, allmusic.com

## The Band - Moondog Matinee (1973)

Written by bluesever Sunday, 09 May 2010 12:30 - Last Updated Wednesday, 06 February 2019 22:04

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett bayfiles

**back**