U2 – Boy (1980)

User Rating: / 0

U2 – Boy (1980)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. I Will Follow - 3:34
02. Twilight - 4:18
03. An Cat Dubh - 4:46
04. Into The Heart - 3:27
05. Out Of Control - 4:11
06. Stories For Boys - 3:01
07. The Ocean - 1:33
08. A Day Without Me - 3:11
09. Another Time, Another Place - 4:33
10. The Electric Co. - 4:47
11. Shadows And Tall Trees - 4:32

- Bono (Paul David Hewson) – lead vocals
- The Edge (David Howell Evans) – guitar, backing vocals
- Adam Clayton (Adam Charles Clayton) – bass
- Larry Mullen Jr. (Lawrence Joseph Mullen, Jr.) – drums


From the outset, U2 went for the big message -- every song on their debut album Boy sounds huge, with oceans of processed guitars cascading around Bono's impassioned wail. It was an inspired combination of large, stadium-rock beats and post-punk textures. Without the Edge's echoed, ringing guitar, U2 would have sounded like a traditional hard rock band, since the rhythm section and Bono treat each song as an anthem. Of course, that's the charm of Boy: all of its emotions are on the surface, delivered with optimistic, youthful self-belief, yet the unusual, distinctive guitar textures give it an unexpected tension that makes it an exhilarating debut. The songs may occasionally show some weakness -- the driving "I Will Follow," the dark "An Cat Dubh," and the shimmering "The Ocean" stand out among the sonic textures -- yet the band's musical and lyrical vision keep Boy compelling until the finish. --- Stephen Thomas Erlewine, allmusic.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett bayfiles



Last Updated (Thursday, 14 March 2019 22:07)