Arch Enemy - As The Stages Burn! (2017)

User Rating: / 0

Arch Enemy - As The Stages Burn! (2017)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Khaos Overture
02. Yesterday Is Dead And Gone
03. War Eternal
04. Ravenous
05. Stolen Life
06. My Apocalpyse
07. You Will Know My Name
08. Bloodstained Cross
09. Under Black Flags We March
10. As The Pages Burn
11. Dead Eyes See No Future
12. Avalanche
13. No Gods, No Masters
14. We Will Rise
15. Nemesis
16. Fields Of Desolation
17. Outro

Michael Amott - guitars, backing vocals
Daniel Erlandsson - drums
Sharlee D'Angelo - bass
Alissa White-Gluz - lead vocals
Jeff Loomis - guitars, backing vocals


Metal outfit Arch Enemy has released already some live albums and DVD with the first one dating back in 1999, when the band recorded a show in Japan. After having published some more live recordings the question might come up why the quintet has with "As the Stages Burn!" a new one in the blocks.

This package covers one DVD featuring the entire Wacken show from 2016 and the same does the CD version. Arch Enemy performed a show in front of an enthusiastic crowd that went berserk during the show. Already the CD version gives this impression that even more strengthened by the DVD. Fans were joining in as a big metal choir during songs like "My Apocalypse", with Alissa White-Gluz constantly motivating them to get even louder. Band and fans celebrated a metal feast on August 6th which is now shared with Arch Enemy fans all over the world.

Next to the mentioned "My Apocalypse", Michael Amott and band played classics such as "Under Black Flags" and "Dead Eyes See No Future", all rounded off by an excellent version of Fields of Desolation" from the 1996 debut. Capturing and releasing this show as a DVD was a great idea and even though you might call one of the earlier live releases your own, it's this package that's still worth to go for.

The scenery is kept in the beginning is kept rather simple. White banners with AE are placed left and right, creating a focus on the might drum kit. With "Ravenous" these flags are gone, revealing the full view on the Black Stage. The filming itself is entertaining and done from various perspective. 13 cameras captured all aspects of this impressive show, directed by Patric Ullaeus (Europe, In Flames,...). And since Andy Sneap was responsible for mix and mastering the album comes with an excellent Dolby 5.1 sound too.

As usual, there's also an bonus connected to "s the Stages Burn!", showing some 'behind the scene' footage and there have been additional eight songs from the 2015 Tokyo show been added to this release. Last but not least some official videos from songs like the mighty "War Eternal" round off a quite comprehensive DVD package.

"As the Stages Burn!" is a brilliant package, presenting Arch Enemy in the here and now. This DVD is more than just a recording of a live show. It's a publication that was put together with a passion and a lot of attention for details. Even though you might call some of the earlier live releases your own, it's this packages brings a very intense metal show right into your living room and should therefor be part of every serious metal collection.

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire cloudmailru