Blues The best music site on the web there is where you can read about and listen to blues, jazz, classical music and much more. This is your ultimate music resource. Tons of albums can be found within. Sat, 25 May 2024 09:24:58 +0000 Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management pl-pl Morgan Davis - Blues Medicine (1999) Morgan Davis - Blues Medicine (1999)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Reefer Smokin' Man (3:28)
02. What's the Matter Now (2:32)
03. Oily Rag (2:11)
04. Keep It Parted in the Middle (3:42)
05. That's Why (6:25)
06. Slidin' Around (1:13)
07. Somnambulatin' Mama (2:57)
08. Special Boogie (2:03)
09. Older and Dumber (2:13)
10. Easy Money (3:08)
11. If I Get Lucky (2:51)
12. New Good Mornin' L'il School Girl (3:56)
13. My Blues (6:19)
14. Tomorrow (3:25)
15. Good Time Tonight (4:02)

Morgan Davis – vocals
Al Lerman – harmonica
Tyler Yarema – piano
Alec Fraser - bass
Mark Mariash – drums


If this album cures what ails you – and it will – all credit must go to the doctor. And "Dr." Davis is clearly on top of his game with this infectious recording. He selflessly credits co-producers Colin Linden and Alec Fraser for their "unbridled joy (of) making music," yet it is Davis' joyful enthusiasm towards his craft that delivers the medicine in powerful doses. His 28-year blues career began in the folk-based protest of the Vietnam War, which brought this American draft dodger to Canada in 1968. An amalgam of Delta and Chicago blues styles, Davis' ragged sound blends his earnest, soulful voice with sharp-edged solos. His lyrics are as witty and insightful, as they are (often) hilarious. "Reefer Smokin' Man" is the quintessential Morgan Davis “good time blues” song, while "My Blues" and "Easy Money (with Mumbo Jumbo)" shows his relative ease and adeptness at playing either gentle ballad or harder-edged boogie, from simple country blues to full-fledged swing. Feeling down or in need of a little shot of sunshine? A little Blues Medicine will go a long way to delivering the cure. ---Eric Thom,

download: uploaded anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega filecloudio


]]> (bluesever) Morgan Davis Sat, 16 Nov 2013 17:15:39 +0000
Morgan Davis – Morgan Davis (1989) Morgan Davis – Morgan Davis (1989)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01 – Prop Me Up Against The Wall
02 – Ridin’ In The Moonlight
03 – Bar B Q
04 – Time To Go
05 – Mean Mistreatin’ Mama
06 – Love Song
07 – I Picked A Winner
08 – Every Night And Every Day
09 – No Mama No
10 – Down In The Bottom
11 – Hang It Up
12 – Married Woman Blues


If blues is indeed an incurable condition then Morgan Davis will gladly live out his life with a permanent affliction. He's used to it by now, and he goes about his business with a sense of humour and pride. Heading into his fourth decade in the music business, Davis is an important voice for the music we call the blues. He speaks eloquently and knowledgeably about his influences and the way that a strong sense of independence characterizes both his own career as a well as those who came before him.

The idea of independance is an important foundation in an understanding of the music we call "the blues." It may be through the geographical independance of traveling and life on the road, the cultural independance of freedom from popular trends, the physical independance of "finger tone," or the sense of self that gives different blues players that ability to grace their music with true personality. Independance is what the blues began with and it is what keeps it alive today.

Morgan Davis is a living, breathing and articulately-speaking example of the relationship between blues and independance. Born in Detroit but making Canada his home for over 30 years, Davis is a firm believer in both his preferred form of musical expression as well as the way that the expression emerges from a sense of being true to one's self. ---

download:  uploaded anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega filecloudio


]]> (bluesever) Morgan Davis Thu, 14 Nov 2013 17:02:10 +0000