Jimmy McGriff - Electric Funk (1969)

Jimmy McGriff - Electric Funk (1969)



01. Back On The Track 02. Chris Cross 03. Miss Poopie 04. The Bird Wave 05. Spear For Moondog, Pt. 1 06. Spear For Moondog, Pt. 2 07. Tight Times 08. Spinning Wheel 09. Funky Junk Personnel: Jimmy McGriff (organ); Stanley Turrentine (tenor saxophone); Blue Mitchell (trumpet); Horace Ott (piano, electric piano).

McGriff, often considered jazz's finest organist after Jimmy Smith, always recorded his fair share of R&B and cheese, and considered himself more of a bluesman than a jazzman, anyway. As it is, the cheese has aged better than most of his music and he is no doubt raking in the sampling bucks as tracks such as "The Worm" (not included here) pop up on many a rapper's c.v. Funk used to be about authenticity of the street; now it's about the plushness of the lounge, and this album, originally recorded in 1969 for one of Sonny Lester's many labels, is a cornerstone of blaxploitation/cop show jazz. That, in itself, will tell you whether you'd like it. ---D. Strauss, Editorial Reviews

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

<u>uploaded yandex 4shared mega gett solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru filecloudio o</u> <u>boom</u>

<u>back</u>

Jimmy McGriff - Electric Funk (1969)