The Dirty Dozen Brass Band - Twenty Dozen (2012)

Ocena użytkowników: / 0

The Dirty Dozen Brass Band - Twenty Dozen (2012)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01 – Tomorrow
02 – Jook
03 – Best Of All		play
04 – Git Up
05 – Don’t Stop The Music
06 – We Gon’ Roll
07 – Trippin’ Inside A Bubble
08 – Paul Barbarin’s Second Line		play
09 – E-Flat Blues
10 – When The Saints Go Marching In
11 – Dirty Old Man

Gregory Davis - trumpet, vocals
Roger Lewis - baritone, soprano sax
Kevin Harris - Tenor saxophone
Terence Higgins - Drums
Jake Eckert - Guitar (touring band)
Efrem Towns - Trumpet, flugelhorn
Kirk Joseph – Sousaphone


The Dirty Dozen Brass Band celebrates their 35th anniversary with seven originals followed by a New Orleans medley and novelty tune. Terence Higgins, who has quietly become their most youthful driving force, contributes one of three straight-forward funk compositions: tuba guru Kirk Joseph’s “Jook,” trumpeter Gregory Davis’ subtle and upbeat “Git Up” and Higgins’ powerful “We Gon’ Roll (Down in New Orleans).” These are interlaced with compositions bearing witness to a strong Afro-Caribbean influence: trumpeter Efrem Towns’ reggae opener “Tomorrow,” saxophonist Kevin Harris’ Calypso-flavored “Best of All,” Roger Lewis’ masterful, stoptime punctuated “Trippin’ Inside a Bubble,” and Higgins’ complete overhaul of the Rihanna hit, “Don’t Stop the Music,” remade as an Afropop, soul makossa extravaganza. While the medley and novelty tune that follow detract from the overall proceedings, the opening 40 minutes of Twenty Dozen constitute some of the most-fully realized and most masterfully played original funk/blues/R&B/jazz ever to emerge from the city where each of those genres were at least lovingly nurtured if not born. ---

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire mega solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru filecloudio oboom



Zmieniony (Piątek, 26 Wrzesień 2014 19:41)