Erskine Hawkins – Original Tuxedo Junction 1938 – 1945 (1989)



1 Tuxedo Junction 3:15 2 After Hours 3:20 3 Tippin' In 3:18 4 Rockin' Rollers' Jubilee 2:43 5 Weary Blues 3:20 6 Easy Rider 2:42 7 Swing Out 3:18 8 Big-Wig In The Wigwam 2:32 9 Swingin' On Lenox Avenue 3:14 10 Gin Mill Special 3:09 11 Cherry 3:18 12 Dolimite 3:31 13 Song Of The Wanderer 3:31 14 Junction Blues 3:12 15 Sweet Georgia Brown 3:08 16 Five O'Clock Whistle 3:05 17 Soft Winds 3:33 18 Nona 3:25 19 Blackout 3:26 20 Don't Cry Baby 3:18 21 Bear Mash Blues 3:09 Alto Saxophone – Jimmy Mitchelle, William Johnson (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 21) Bass – Lee Stanfield Clarinet, Baritone Saxophone – Heywood Henry Drums – James Morrison (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 21) Guitar – Bill McLemore (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 21) Piano – Avery Parrish (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 21) Tenor Saxophone – Julian Dash Trombone – Edward Sims (tracks: 1 to 13), Robert Range (tracks: 1, 2, 4 to 21) Trumpet – Erskine Hawkins, Marcellus Green, Sammy Lowe, Wilbur Bascomb Sr. (tracks: 1 to 13 17, 19)

This is an excellent one-CD sampler of the music of Erskine Hawkins' Orchestra. Although serious collectors will want to get the comprehensive Classics releases, this is a perfect place for more general listeners to begin. Hawkins' three biggest hits ("Tuxedo Junction," "After Hours," and "Tippin' In") lead off the set which otherwise has highlights from 1938-42. With the exception of 1945's "Tippin' In" (which features some memorable lead alto by Bobby Smith), all of Hawkins' key soloists are here, including the leader and Dud Bascomb on trumpets, either Paul Bascomb or Julian Dash on tenor, baritonist Haywood Henry, and pianist Avery Parrish (who made "After Hours" famous). Timeless swing. ---Scott Yanow, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @VBR kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to cloudmailru gett

Erskine Hawkins – Original Tuxedo Junction 1938 – 1945 (1989)

back