Rock, Metal The best music site on the web there is where you can read about and listen to blues, jazz, classical music and much more. This is your ultimate music resource. Tons of albums can be found within. Sun, 16 Jun 2024 12:43:53 +0000 Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management pl-pl Dead Moon - Dead Moon Night (2006) Dead Moon - Dead Moon Night (2006)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Dead Moon - Until It Rains (2:49)
2. Dead Moon - 13 Going on 21 (2:52)
3. Dead Moon - A Fix on you (3:11)
4. Dead Moon - Dead Moon Night (4:43)
5. Dead Moon - Signs of Departure (2:02)
6. Dead Moon - Dead In The Saddle (3:42)
7. Dead Moon - An Occupation with You (2:59)
8. Dead Moon - Graveyard (2:30)
9. Dead Moon - Black September (3:03)
10. Dead Moon - Sabotage (2:18)
11. Dead Moon - Hey Joe (2:55)
12. Dead Moon - In the attitudes (3:04)
13. Dead Moon - Kicked Out (2:33)
14. Dead Moon - Bonus Track: Milk Cow Blues (3:34)
15. Dead Moon - Walking On My Grave (3:06)
16. Dead Moon - Crazy to the bone (3:12)
17. Dead Moon - Hey Joe (2:42)
18. Dead Moon - You Must Be A Witch (2:55)

Fred Cole – guitar, vocals
Toody Cole – bass, vocals
Andrew Loomis – drums


Dead Moon's Fred Cole was punk years before you were; he and his wife, bassist Toody Cole, are indie on a level that puts nearly every human being to shame; and if you want to hear an album that's as thoroughly pure and uncompromising as anything you're likely to encounter in a record store, 1990's Dead Moon Night certainly fits the bill. Dead Moon Night was compiled from a handful of singles and albums Dead Moon released on their own Tombstone Records label between 1988 and 1990, and this captures the band's bluesy variety of garage punk in a raw and unadorned state. These are primarily home recordings tracked in mono, and the sharp, razorblade tone of Fred's electric guitar is as unprettied an instrument as rock has ever known. However, Dead Moon Night also manages to capture an impressive amount of the energy and sweat Dead Moon generate on stage, with Toody and drummer Andrew Loomis matching Fred's fury on these 12 tunes (no small accomplishment), and the songs are powerful howls from the pit of the soul, peals of fury against a world these three willing outcasts have rejected on any number of levels, and if the results lack polish or production niceties, you sure can't say they don't communicate -- or rock out. ---Mark Deming, Rovi

download (mp3 @160 kbs):

yandex mediafire 4shared cloudmailru gett




]]> (bluesever) Dead Moon Tue, 21 Oct 2014 15:49:00 +0000
Dead Moon - In The Graveyard (1988) Dead Moon - In The Graveyard (1988)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	Graveyard
2 	Out On A Wire 	
3 	Can't Help Falling In Love
4 	Parchment Farm
5 	Dead In The Saddle 	
6 	Hey Joe 	
7 	Don't Burn The Fires 	
8 	Where Did I Go Wrong 	
9 	Remember Me 	
10 	I Hate The Blues

Fred Cole – guitar, vocals
Toody Cole – bass
Andrew Loomis – drums (2 – 10)
Louis Samora – drums (1)


That Dead Moon remain of relative obscurity feels not so much a matter of oversight as a cosmic injustice. Since 1988 they’ve independently released a dozen albums, toured extensively, and teetered on the precipice of wider recognition: Pearl Jam and Shellac have sung their praises, while 2004 documentary Unknown Passage and 2006 Sub Pop collection Echoes From The Past have spread the gospel further.

It can’t be to do with the backstory, itself a slice of history. Singer-guitarist Fred Cole played in 60s garage bands The Lords, The Weeds, and The Lollipop Shoppe, whose “You Must Be A Witch” landed on the first Nuggets box. Fleeing the draft, the band ended up in Portland, where Fred met Toody, future wife and Dead Moon bandmate. The Coles conduct themselves with DIY integrity, booking their own tours, running a studio and guitar store, and pressing their own records, some cut on the same lathe used on The Kingsmen’s “Louie Louie”. Toody credits their spirited self-reliance to their parents: “They survived the depression and World War Two, and taught us that strength and determination will carry you through.”

Dead Moon’s first three records, In The Graveyard (1988), Unknown Passage (1989) and Defiance (1990), remain unimpeachable. They started as a covers band, and some remain: Toody’s Mo Tucker-ish “I Can’t Help Falling In Love With You” on In The Graveyard, a raging take on blues standard “Milk Cow Blues” on Defiance. But the originals are just as good: the nightmarish “thunderbolts and nightsticks” visions of “Dead Moon Night”, or the wracked country blues of “Dagger Moon”.

Fred and Toody split with drummer Andrew Looms in 2006, but Dead Moon reformed at the start of 2014 to play the centenary of Portland’s Crystal Ballroom. A subsequent European tour was cancelled when Fred fell ill, and he’s just undergone triple bypass open-heart surgery. “He needs several months to heal completely, and be able to play on stage again, standing for over an hour with that heavy Guild Thunderbird guitar strapped on,” says Toody. But a Portland show is booked for January 2015. The world still has a chance to wake up to Dead Moon. ---Louis Pattison,

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

yandex 4shared gett cloudmailru



]]> (bluesever) Dead Moon Thu, 23 Oct 2014 15:46:40 +0000