Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Chamber Music Dutch Cello Sonatas Vol.2 (2009)

Dutch Cello Sonatas Vol.2 (2009)

User Rating: / 0

Dutch Cello Sonatas Vol.2 (2009)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Julius Rontgen (1855-1932)
Sonate op 56 (1907) B minor
1. Sonata for cello & piano No. 5 in B minor, Op. 56: Moderato
2. Sonata for cello & piano No. 5 in B minor, Op. 56: Allegro con moto
3. Sonata for cello & piano No. 5 in B minor, Op. 56: Poco andante, teneramente
4. Sonata for cello & piano No. 5 in B minor, Op. 56: Molto passionato e vivace
Cinq morceaux (1917-23) 
5. Morceaux (5), for cello & piano: Menuet triste. Lento
6. Morceaux (5), for cello & piano: Ariel. Vivace e leggiero
7. Morceaux (5), for cello & piano: Miranda. Adagio molto e cantabile
8. Morceaux (5), for cello & piano: Caliban. Allegro feroce
9. Morceaux (5), for cello & piano: Gavotte élégante. Moderato e leggier
Sonate op 41 (1901) A minor
10. Sonata for cello & piano in A minor, Op. 41: Allegro non troppo et affettuoso
11. Sonata for cello & piano in A minor, Op. 41: Vivace, ma non troppo presto
12. Sonata for cello & piano in A minor, Op. 41: Adagio
13. Sonata for cello & piano in A minor, Op. 41: Finale. Allegro agitato

Daniel van Goens (1858-1904)
14. Scherzo for cello & piano, Op 12: 2: Vivace molto e con spirito
15. Invocation, for cello & piano, Op. 36: Lento
16. Menuet, for cello & piano, Op. 39: 2: Tempo di Minuetto

Doris Hochscheid, cello
Frans van Ruth, piano


When thinking of the available repertoire for the cello, one may not quickly think of composers of Dutch descent. Cellist Doris Hochscheid, however, has seemingly made it her mission to promote just such works. In fact, this Audiomax album is the second volume devoted to Dutch cello sonatas, following an earlier release devoted to an even narrower subject matter: Jewish Dutch composers. After listening to the two sonatas of Julius Röntgen, one must wonder why these works have remained in obscurity for so long. While they're not on the same level of other cornerstone sonatas written in the same time period, Röntgen's sonatas are still filled with pleasing and easy-to-follow melodies, integrated dialogue between cello and piano, and plenty of contrasts to keep listeners interested. The other works on the program are not sonatas, but short, charming character pieces: Cinq morceaux by Röntgen and three of the 38 short cello works composed by Daniel van Goens. For her part, Hochscheid puts forth a generally pleasing performance. Her tone is not always ideal -- sometimes coming across as thin or hesitant in the upper registers and sometimes forced lower on the instrument -- and intonation is occasionally a bit spotty, particularly in extended triadic sections. Still, listeners interested in new repertoire for the instrument will still enjoy her efforts to bring these works to center stage. English- and German-speaking listeners should note that the first five full paragraphs of the original Dutch liner notes go untranslated, instead beginning in the middle of a thought. --- Mike D. Brownell, Rovi

download (mp3 @224 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mega mediafire solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru oboom




Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 252 guests
Content View Hits : 220037541