Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Halvorsen Johann Halvorsen - Orchestral Works Vol 2 (Jarvi) [2010]

Halvorsen - Orchestral Works Vol 2 (Jarvi) [2010]

User Rating: / 0

Halvorsen - Orchestral Works Vol 2 (Jarvi) [2010]

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Suite ancienne, Op. 31a 	25:25
1 	I 	Intrata. Allegretto moderato 	4:47
2 	II 	Air con variazioni. Andantino - 	9:13
  	  	  	1. Moderato - 	
  	  	  	2. Allegro con brio - 	
  	  	  	3. Allegro commodo - 	
  	  	  	4. Stesso tempo - 	
  	  	  	5. Andante - 	
  	  	  	6. Allegro moderato (tempo di Rigaudon) - 	
  	  	  	7. [ ] - 	
  	  	  	8. Allegro marciale - Andantino sostenuto 	
3 	III 	Gigue. Allegro - Allegro molto 	4:15
4 	IV 	Sarabande. Andante sostenuto 	3:04
5 	V 	Bourrée. Allegro con spirito 	3:49
3 Norwegian Dances  for Violin and Orchestra 	10:39
6 	1 	Allegro con brio - Molto tranquillo - Piu mosso - Piu lento - Allegro con brio 	3:00
7 	2 	Allegretto - Allegro con fuoco - Piu lento - Allegro con fuoco - Presto 	3:03
8 	3 	Allegro, non troppo - Tranquillo - Piu mosso - A tempo (tranquillo) - D.C. al fine 	4:36
9 	Air norvegien, Op. 7 for Violin and Orchestra	7:48
  	  	  	Allegro moderato (Pastorale) - 	
  	  	  	Andante - 	
  	  	  	Allegretto - 	
  	  	  	Andante - Piu mosso - 	
  	  	  	Andante sostenuto - Piu mosso - 	
  	  	  	Allegretto - Piu mosso - Pesante - 	
  	  	  	Allegro - Lento - 	
  	  	  	Allegro molto 	

10 	Chant de la Veslemoy for Violin and Orchestra	3:30

Symphony No. 2 'Fatum'  in D minor	27:57
11 	I 	Allegro moderato - Piu mosso sempre - Con brio - Tempo energico - 	8:37
12 	II 	Romance. Andante con sentimento 	6:19
13 	III 	Intermezzo. Allegretto amabile 	4:39
14 	IV 	Finale. Allegro - Energico - Un poco piu mosso - Piu mosso - 	8:06

Marianne Thorsen - violin 	
Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra
Neeme Jarvi – conductor


Johan Halvorsen spent most of his career writing for the theater, which is probably why his music sounds so effortless, colorful, and well, efficient. This isn't meant to be disparaging. Rather, all of these pieces get right to the point, and none outstays its welcome, not even the Second Symphony, which clocks in at a bit under half an hour. It's conservative, harmonically and formally, but the music really works--it's a pleasure from beginning to end, and wholly convincing. This performance also is the first to correct the zillion errors in the printed score that have gone a long way to preventing the work from entering the repertoire, where it surely belongs.

The other pieces are all, in one way or another, ostensibly Norwegian in sound in a manner quite similar to Grieg. Again, there's nothing wrong with that. What sane person dislikes Grieg? The Suite ancienne, to the memory of Holberg, has every bit as much charm and freshness as Grieg's Holberg Suite, while the other three pieces all feature solo violin. Marianne Thorsen plays splendidly, while Neeme Järvi leads his Bergen forces in performances that are graceful, vibrant, and in the Suite and the Symphony, the last word in impetuosity and excitement. With terrific sound, if you don't know this music, you're missing something special. ---David Hurwitz, ClassicsToday.com, arkivmusic.com

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mega mediafire solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru oboom




Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 427 guests
Content View Hits : 176907369