Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Strona Główna Rock, Metal Depeche Mode Depeche Mode - Spirit (2017)

Depeche Mode - Spirit (2017)

Ocena użytkowników: / 0

Depeche Mode - Spirit (2017)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Going Backwards
02. Where's The Revolution
03. The Worst Crime
04. Scrum
05. You Move
06. Cover Me
07. Eternal
08. Poison Heart
09. So Much Love
10. Poorman
11. No More (This Is The Last Time)
12. Fail

CD2: Jungle Spirit Mixes
01. Cover Me (Alt Out)
02. Scum (Frenetic Mix)
03. Poison Heart (Tripped Mix)
04. Fail (Cinematic Cut)
05. So Much Love (Machine Mix)

Dave Gahan – lead vocals, backing vocals
Martin Gore – guitars, keyboards, synthesizers, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Eternal" and "Fail"
Andy Fletcher – keyboards, synthesizers, backing vocals
James Ford – production, mixing, drums (all tracks, except "Eternal"), pedal steel guitar on "Cover Me"
Matrixxman – programming
Kurt Uenala – programming, bass guitar on "Poison Heart" and "No More (This is the Last Time)"


In a time of sociopolitical upheaval, Depeche Mode emerged with Spirit. Dark, brooding, and painfully relevant upon its release, the collection is one of their most intense and aggressive statements, isolating the frustration, anger, tension, and dread coursing across the globe in the wake of the 2016 U.S. presidential election and Brexit. With little subtlety, Depeche Mode take aim and leave few survivors. Producer James Ford (Simian Mobile Disco, Arctic Monkeys, Florence + the Machine) revives the trio after their two prior lackluster efforts and turns Spirit into a highlight of their late era, the strongest effort since 2005's Playing the Angel. From a fiery pulpit, Dave Gahan hurls line after line chastising the masses, wondering how the world got into such a bind. He points the finger at "misinformation," "misguided leaders," "apathetic hesitation," and "uneducated readers" on "The Worst Crime," taking his own share of responsibility by admitting "we are all charged with treason." On "Going Backwards," he fears a regression "to a caveman mentality." When Martin Gore joins him, they come to a dire conclusion: "We feel nothing inside/Because there's nothing inside." If the perpetually gloomy pair think affairs are this bad, perhaps there really is no hope (a decision Gore flirts with on "Fail" when he laments, "Our conscience is bankrupt/Oh, we're fucked"). Despite such desperation, the band doesn't allow for much time to be paralyzed by fear and complacency. Like parents telling their children they're "so disappointed" in them in the hopes of sparking a little reverse-psychology motivation, Spirit is Depeche Mode's challenge for us to prove them wrong. The swaggering "Where's the Revolution" is a call to arms that could double as effective propaganda for resistance recruitment, while the hammering "So Much Love" takes a defiant stand in the face of hate, wielding love as a weapon to fight the good fight. Meanwhile, on the pure and vulnerable "Eternal," Gore -- restraining his late-era vibrato -- promises to love and protect a loved one in uncertain times. However, when love is not enough, there's the visceral "Scum," a savage throbber that swells with ominous synths as Gahan asks, "Hey scum, what are you gonna do when karma comes?" before goading said miscreant to "pull the trigger." On Spirit, Gahan once again flexes his songwriting muscles, which have only gotten stronger after his work with Soulsavers. The sexy "You Move," written with Gore, is a club-ready standout that pulses from the darkest corners found on Ultra and Gahan's Hourglass, while the carnal "Poison Heart" is another Soulsavers-esque affair, as sleazy and spiritual as he gets. Robust and fearless, Spirit may end up being one of the earliest and best salvos of its political era. Despite dour lyrics to the contrary, Depeche Mode haven't given up on humanity. Spirit exhumes the remains of our better nature and demands its resurrection. ---Neil Z. Yeung, AllMusic Review



Depeche Mode – jeden z najważniejszych i najbardziej innowacyjnych zespołów w historii muzyki – wydaje nową, 14. w karierze studyjną płytę „Spirit". Jest to efekt współpracy z producentem Jamesem Fordem z Simian Mobile Disco (odpowiedzialnym za płyty m.in. Foals, Florence & The Machine, Arctic Monkeys) i pierwsza nowa muzyka zespołu od czasu świetnie przyjętej płyty „Delta Machine" (2013), która zadebiutowała na 1. miejscu oficjalnych zestawień sprzedaży płyt w 12 krajach, także w Polsce.

Album zbiera znakomite noty od wszystkich, którzy mieli okazję się z nim zapoznać – Magazyn Q uznał go za „jeden z najmocniej naładowanych energią albumów Depeche Mode od lat”.

Promuje go singiel „Where’s The Revolution", udostępniony we fragmencie na konferencji prasowej zespołu w Mediolanie jesienią 2016, gdzie zespół poinformował o zakończeniu pracy nad płytą i ogłosił europejską część trasy koncertowej. Potężnie brzmiący i wyjątkowo aktualny pod względem tekstowym utwór odznacza się pulsującym rytmem i groźną energią, którą podkreśla wokal Dave'a Gahana śpiewającego „Where's the Revolution?" „Come on people you're letting me down". Okładka i wszystkie elementy graficzne do 'Spirit' są dziełem stałego współpracownika kreatywnego zespołu - a także uznanego filmowca - Antona Corbijna. ---empik.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to cloudmailru



Zmieniony (Sobota, 20 Styczeń 2018 19:41)


Zanim ściągniesz jakikolwiek plik, musisz przeczytać i zaakceptować nasz

Jeśli jesteś artystą lub agentem i chciałbyś by Twoja muzyka została usunięta
z naszej strony, proszę napisz do nas na
i usuniemy ją jak najszybciej.

Który gatunek muzyczny najchętniej chciałbyś u nas widzieć?
Teraz na stronie:
  • 202 gości
Łączna liczba odwiedzin :