Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Livin Blues Livin Blues – Rocking At The Tweed Mill (1972)

Livin Blues – Rocking At The Tweed Mill (1972)

User Rating: / 2

Livin Blues – Rocking At The Tweed Mill (1972)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Ain't No Use Crying (Christiansen/La Grand/Oberg/Van Buuren) - 4:04
02. Diving Duck Blues (McDowell) - 6:55
03. Eye To Eye (Christiansen/Oberg) - 3:06
04. Please Don't Leave Me (Domino) - 2:52
05. Sweet Suzanne (Oberg) - 3:30
06. Shady Girl, Shady Girl (Christiansen/La Grand/Oberg/Van Buuren/Vernon) - 2:33
07. Fool On You (Friedman) - 6:57
08. Tongue 'n' Groove (La Grand/Wingfield) - 2:21
09. You're A Stranger (Christiansen/Oberg) - 5:33

- Teddy Oberg - lead guitar
- Nicko Christiansen - vocals, saxophone, bongos
- John La Grand - harmonica
- Ruud Van Buuren - bass
- Arjan Kamminga – drums


This was the first Livin' Blues album not to be produced by ex-Golden Earring drummer Jaap Eggermont and was instead produced by Englishman Mike Vernon, who had experience producing other blues rock groups such as John John Mayall, Ten Years After and Fleetwood Mac. It was recorded at his studio in Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire (The album cover shows the band in front of the Bliss Tweed Mill in Chipping Norton) from late October to early November 1972 and released before the end of the year. Unfortunately, at this point is when the band would start to grow apart due to constant line-up changes (they would have a different drummer almost every year!) and with the departure of the latest drummer, Johnny Le Jeune, before recording this album, they found it more difficult to write new original material.

"Rockin' at the Tweed Mill" is more or less a continuation from Bamboozle but you can see other elements creeping in here in some of the softer numbers but there's no lack of energy on this album. In many ways it's even more bluesy than their previous albums. It starts out slow and brooding with "Ain't No Use Crying" and then comes the stomping and driving "Diving Duck Blues", written by Mississippi Fred McDowell and absolutely owned by the band here. Following are more of the same including Fats Domino's "Please Don't Leave Me", released as a single, and a bunch of excellent blues originals ("You're a Stranger") and other minor covers. While being short of original material this time around, they didn't let it affect the quality of their work, turning out an album just as strong as any before. John Lagrand's epic harmonica work and Ted Oberg's guitar prowess are highlights of most of the songs not to mention Nicko Christiansen's powerful vocal delivery. --- rateyourmusic.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto solidfiles global.files



Last Updated (Wednesday, 07 April 2021 20:39)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 260 guests
Content View Hits : 181482628