Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Sam Collins Sam Collins - Complete Recorded Works 1927-1931 (1996)

Sam Collins - Complete Recorded Works 1927-1931 (1996)

User Rating: / 0

Sam Collins - Complete Recorded Works 1927-1931 (1996)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. The Jail House Blues
02. Devil In The Lion's Den
03. Yellow Dog Blues
04. Loving Lady Blues
05. Riverside Blues
06. Dark Cloudy Blues
07. Hesitation Blues
08. Pork Chop Blues
09. Midnight Special Blues
10. I Want To Be Like Jesus In My Heart
11. Lead Me All the Way
12. It Won't Be Long
13. Do That Thing
14. The Worried Man Blues
15. The Moanin' Blues
16. Lonesome Road Blues
17. New Salty Dog
18. Slow Mama Slow
19. Signifying Blues
20. I'm Still Sitting On Top Of The World
21. Graveyard Digger's Blues
22. My Road Is Rough And Rocky (How Long, How Long?)

Sam Collins – guitar, vocals
John D. Fox - vocals


One of the earliest generation of blues performers, Collins developed his style in South Mississippi (as opposed to the Delta). His recording debut single ("The Jail House Blues," 1927) predated those of legendary Mississippians such as Charley Patton and Tommy Johnson and was advertised as "Crying Sam Collins and his Git-Fiddle." Collins did not become a major name in blues -- in fact his later records appeared under several different pseudonyms, most notably the name Jim Foster -- but his rural bottleneck guitar pieces were among the first to be compiled on LP when the country-blues reissue era was just beginning. Sam Charters wrote in The Bluesmen: "Although Collins was not one of the stylistic innovators within the Mississippi blues idiom, he was enough part of it that, in blues like 'Signifying Blues' and 'Slow Mama Slow,' he had some of the intensity of the Mississippi music at its most creative level."

Every track that Sam Collins recorded at the end of the '20s and early in the '30s is included on Document's Complete Recorded Works (1927-1931). Although the comprehensiveness of the set is a little intimidating for casual listeners -- they should stick with the better-sequenced Jailhouse Blues -- historians will find the collection invaluable. ---Thom Owens, Rovi

download:  uploaded anonfiles mega 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu



Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 253 guests
Content View Hits : 196005384