Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Odetta Odetta – The Tin Angel (1954)

Odetta – The Tin Angel (1954)

User Rating: / 0

Odetta – The Tin Angel (1954)

01 - John Henry
02 - Old Cotton Fields At Home
03 - The Frozen Logger
04 - Run, Come See Jerusalem
05 - Old Blue
06 - Water Boy
07 - Santy Ana
08 - I Was Born About 10,000 Years Ago / The Biggest Thing
09 - The Car-Car Song
10 - No More Cane On The Brazos
11 - Pay Day At Coal Creek
12 - I've Been 'Buked And I've Been Scorned
13 - Rock Island Line
14 - Another Man Don' Gone
15 - Children Go Where I Send Thee
16 - I Know Where I'm Going
17 - He's Got The Whole World In His Hands
18 - Timber
19 - Wade In The Waters

Odetta 	- Guitar, Performer, Vocals
Larry Mohr - Banjo, Vocals


Although the 1993 CD version of this album is credited to Odetta and titled The Tin Angel, it's actually a reissue of a Fantasy LP credited to Odetta & Larry, which bore the slightly different title The Tin Angel Presents Odetta & Larry. That original LP had 13 tracks recorded in 1953 and 1954, some of them live at the Tin Angel club in San Francisco, with Larry Mohr contributing some banjo and harmony and lead vocals, though Odetta was the more prominent presence. This source of confusion duly noted, this is pretty much an Odetta album in most respects, as she takes a considerably larger part of the vocal duties on a set of traditional folk material including such standards as "John Henry," "Rock Island Line," and "Old Cotton Fields at Home," as well as some blues and spirituals, plus a good version of Woody Guthrie's "The Car-Car Song." Odetta's stirring vocal style is pretty fully formed on this, the first group of her recordings in wide distribution, as is her ability to emit bluesy grunts, as you can hear on "John Henry." Mohr's vocals (he takes unaccompanied lead on "Old Blue") and banjo are comparatively bland, but they're not much of a distraction from Odetta, who's definitely the main feature. The 1993 CD reissue adds six tracks, including some very popular folk revival tunes in "He's Got the Whole World in His Hands," "Wade in the Water," and "Another Man Done Gone." --- Richie Unterberger, Rovi

download: uploaded yandex gett mega anonfiles mediafire mixturecloud ziddu download


Last Updated (Sunday, 09 June 2013 13:06)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 161 guests
Content View Hits : 235636003