Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Blues Odetta Odetta - Sings Ballads and Blues (1956)

Odetta - Sings Ballads and Blues (1956)

User Rating: / 0

Odetta - Sings Ballads and Blues (1956)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Spiritual Trilogy [6:05]
2. Santy Anno [1:56]
3. If I Had a Ribbon Bow [2:43]
4. Muleskinner Blues [2:51]
5. Another Man Done Gone [2:12]
6. Shame and Scandal [2:23]
7. 'Buked and Scorned [3:15]
8. Jack O' Diamonds [2:41]
9. Easy Rider [5:07]
10. Joshua [1:54]
11. Hound Dog [3:50]
12. Glory, Glory [2:12]
13. Alabama Bound [1:42]
14. Been In the Pen [2:33]
15. Deep Blue Sea [3:02]
16. God's Gonna Cut You Down [1:51]
Odetta Holmes – vocals, acoustic guitar, hand claps


Odetta's debut album was a strong, confident effort featuring just her and her guitar on 16 tracks, most of which were traditional in origin. In its day, it was quite an influential recording; Bob Dylan, in fact, once cited this record in particular as the one that made him decide to trade in his electric guitar and amplifier for an acoustic guitar. Several of the songs would find their ways into the repertoires of subsequent folkies, and even some folk-rock bands. There's no way of knowing whether they heard the tunes first on this release, but it's entirely possible, as it was one of the first strong traditional folk LPs. It's now been reissued on CD, and retains a lot of its original appeal in the power and emotional depth of the performances. --- Richie Unterberger, Rovi

download:   uploaded anonfiles mega 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu


Last Updated (Sunday, 09 June 2013 12:37)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 279 guests
Content View Hits : 235633815