Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Pfitzner Hans Hans Pfitzner - Piano Trios (2001)

Hans Pfitzner - Piano Trios (2001)

User Rating: / 0

Hans Pfitzner - Piano Trios (2001)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Piano Trio Op. 8 in F Major
1 Kräftig und feurig, nicht zu schnell 8:04
2 Langsam, nicht schleppen 13:41
3 Mässig schnell, etwas frei im Vortrag 6:05
4 Rasch und wild 16:29

Piano Trio in B Flat Major
5 Allegro molto 11:00
6 Romanze. Andante 6:40
7 Scherzo. Ziemlich schnell 3:21

Robert Schumann Trio:
Kees Hülsmann, violin
Marien von Staalen, cello
Josef De Beenhouwer, piano


A piano trio by Pfitzner may seem a daunting prospect, especially when the piece in question lasts for three-quarters of an hour (Op. 8): perhaps this was the reasoning behind CPO's 'special price' for this product. That said, it is difficult to imagine anyone with a penchant for late-Romantic music being disappointed by this release.

Chamber music was part of the entire gamut of Pfitzner's creative life - his Op. 1 was his Cello Sonata in F sharp minor. The major work on this disc, the Piano Trio in F, Op. 8, dates from 1896; it is the longest composition of his early period. Pfitzner's cup positively overflows with invention. One of his compositional credos was that one idea naturally gives birth to another, and certainly there is a momentum of ideas which makes the eight-minute first movement ('Kräftig und feurig, nicht zu schnell') so compelling. This is in fact true of both of the outer movements (the last movement, 'Rasch und wild', is quite invigorating to listen to).

The very opening shows where Pfitzner's 'difficult' reputation comes from. The texture he creates is best described as 'large', full of late-Romantic sweep. But this just emphasises the contrasts Pfitzner is able to call on: try the beautifully calm patch around 5'50, as fragments are exchanged between instruments.

All three members of the Robert Schumann Trio get chances to shine. Perhaps it is Kees Hülsmann's sweet-toned violin which should come in for special mention. His sound suits the lyrical basis of this music and he excels himself in the slow movement, which moves to a tender, yet impassioned, climax.

The B flat Piano Trio, which dates from 1886, a full decade earlier, is much less demanding fare. The author of the booklet notes, Hans Rectanus, claims to have reconstructed and published the trio from material in the Austrian National Library in Vienna and the Bavarian State Library (Munich).

This is the music of youth. The booklet notes accuse the first movement of being 'a little long', something the Robert Schumann Trio set out to disprove: and what a convincing case they make! The second movement is similarly fresh, inspiring the booklet note writer to purple prose. The Romanze 'could be a scene with two lovers. "She" (violin) and "he" (cello) flirt with one another, let go, and finally come to rest in perfect happiness'. Again however, Rectanus feels the third movement Scherzo makes a 'somewhat clumsy impression'. Actually, it is great fun, and the Trio is really affecting. Well worth exploring. ---Colin Clarke, musicweb-international.com

download: uploaded yandex 4shared solidfiles mega filecloudio nornar ziddu


Last Updated (Wednesday, 12 March 2014 14:19)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 309 guests
Content View Hits : 177026736