Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Adams John John Adams - El Nino

John Adams - El Nino

User Rating: / 1

John Adams - El Nino

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. I Sing Of A Maiden 6:18
2. Hail Mary, Gracious! 4:47
3. La Annunciacion 9:34
4. For With God Nothing Shall Be Impossible 1:15
5. The Babe Leaped In Her Womb 3:30
6. Magnificat 3:23
7. Now She Was Sixteen Years Old 3:20
8. Joseph's Dream 4:32
9. Shake The Heavens 5:54
10. Se Habla De Gabriel 8:26
11. The Christmas Star 6:45

1. Pues Mi Dios Ha Nacido A Penar 4:33
2. When Herod Heard 2:28
3. Woe Unto Them That Call Evil Good 4:22
4. And The Star Went Before Them 2:26
5. The Three Kings 5:25
6. And When They Were Departed 1:11
7. Dawn Air 4:22
8. And He Slew All The Children 1:43
9. Memorial Del Tlateloloco 9:12
10. In The Day Of The Great Slaughter 3:20
11. Pues Esta Tiritando 3:35
12. Jesus And The Dragons 2:50
13. A Palm Tree 7:57

Steven Rickards, Lorraine Hunt Lieberson,
Dawn Upshaw, Willard White
Berlin German Symphony Orchestra
Kent Nagano – conductor


El Niño is an opera-oratorio by the American composer John Adams. It was premiered on December 15, 2000 at Paris's Théâtre du Châtelet by the Deutsches Symphony Orchestra and soloists Dawn Upshaw, Lorraine Hunt Lieberson and Willard White, with Kent Nagano conducting. It has been performed on a number of occasions since, and has been broadcast on BBC television. Described by Adams as a "nativity oratorio", the piece is designed to be performed equally well in both concert and stage settings, and uses texts from the King James Bible, Wakefield Mystery Plays and poems by Mexican poet Rosario Castellanos as well as Adams and librettist Peter Sellars. It retells the Christmas story, with the first half of focusing on Mary's thoughts before the birth and the second half on the aftermath of the birth in the stable in Bethlehem, Herod's slaughter of the Holy Innocents and the early life of Jesus. The text follows the traditional biblical story of the birth of Jesus but also incorporates poetry from a wide range of sources. Included are poems by Rosario Castellanos, Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, Gabriela Mistral, and Rubén Dario. The work also includes selected passages from the Wakefield Mystery Play, Martin Luther’s Christmas Sermon, the Gospel of Luke, and several "gnostic" gospels from the Apocrypha. John Adams also quotes Gabriela Mistral’s "The Christmas Star" and a choral setting of "O quam preciosa" by Hildegard von Bingen.

download:    uploaded anonfiles mega 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu


Last Updated (Saturday, 27 July 2013 11:27)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 265 guests
Content View Hits : 235617450