Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Marais Marin Marin Marais - La Rêveuse & Autres Pièces De Viole (2003)

Marin Marais - La Rêveuse & Autres Pièces De Viole (2003)

User Rating: / 1

Marin Marais - La Rêveuse & Autres Pièces De Viole (2003)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Mr de Sainte-Colombe (XVIIe Siècle)
1 	'Chaconne Raportée' À Deux Violes Esgales (Extr. Concert XLVIIIe Siècle : 'Le Raporte')	5:20

Marin Marais (1656-1728)
2 	'Prélude En Harpègement' - Rondement (Extr. Ve Livre, 1725) 	2:35
3 	'Fantaisie' (Extr. IIIe Livre, 1711) 	1:02
4 	'Grand Ballet' (Extr. IIIe Livre, 1711) 	4:33
5 	'Caprice' Ou 'Sonate' - Lent, Très Légèrement (Extr. IVe Livre, 1717) 	4:37
6 	'Muzette' (Extr. IVe Livre, 1717) 	2:14
7 	'Couplets De Folies' (Extr. IIe Livre, 1701) 	16:44
8 	'La Rêveuse' (Extr. IVe Livre, 1717) 	5:15
9 	'Dialogue' - Légèrement (Extr. Ve Livre, 1725) 	3:02
10 	'Plainte' - Lentement (Extr. IIIe Livre, 1711) 	3:22
11 	'Chaconne' (Extr. Ve Livre, 1725) 	3:08
12 	'Tombeau Pour Mr De Sainte-Colombe' (Extr. IIe Livre, 1701) 	7:15

Guitar [Baroque Guitar] – Evangelina Mascardi (tracks: 2 to 11)
Harpsichord – Luca Guglielmi (tracks: 2 to 7, 9 to 11)
Theorbo, Guitar [Baroque Guitar] – Xavier Díaz (tracks: 2 to 12)
Viol [Basse De Viole] – Sophie Watillon, Friederike Heumann (tracks: 1 to 7, 9 to 11)


Today, as in his lifetime, Marin Marais is recognized as one of the great figures in the French school of bass viol players and composers of the Grand Siècle. Yet for nearly two centuries his name was forgotten, as was the instrument that brought him fame throughout Western Europe. It was until the twentieth century that Marin Marais and the bass viol were finally resusitated. Beautifully packaged and with extensive liner notes in French and English, Alpha Productions delivers yet another marvelous recording and artist. ---Editorial Reviews, amazon.com


This disc is up against some phenomenal competition. There are already magnificent recordings of Marais' music by giants of the gamba like Jordi Savall and Paulo Pandolfo. I was a bit dubious as to whether Sophie Watillon could in any way match these performances or bring anything new to the music, but she certainly does. I found this a delightful and engaging disc with real musical merit.

Sophie Watillon and her small ensemble play with genuine thoughtfulness and insight. Their technique is uniformly excellent and the performance has the feel of a chamber group with a fine rapport between them. The overall effect is very lovely, with the theorbo continuo an especially beautiful sound. They bring terrific feeling to Marais's music with real emotion in the Tombeau pour M. de Sainte Colombe, for example, and a verve and drive to the livelier pieces which makes them a delight.

With Alpha's excellent recorded sound and very attractive presentation this is an extremely fine disc all round and (rather against my initial expectations) I recommend it very warmly indeed. ---Sid Nuncius, amazon.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to cloud.mail.ru gett



Last Updated (Monday, 09 July 2018 14:20)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 409 guests
Content View Hits : 230478678