Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Joan Sutherland Joan Sutherland – Command Performance (1963)

Joan Sutherland – Command Performance (1963)

User Rating: / 1

Joan Sutherland – Command Performance (1963)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Weber - Ocean! Thou mighty monster (Oberon)
02. Massenet - Pleurez mes yeux (Le Cid)
03. Meyerbeer - Shadow Song (Dinorah)
04. Leoncavallo - Recit and Ballatella (I Pagliacci)
05. Verdi - Recit and Aria 'Tu del mio Carlo' (I Masnadieri)
06. Verdi - Aria 'Tu puniscimi o signora' (Luisa Miller)		play
07. Rossini - Recit and Aria 'Vorrei Spiegarvi' (La Cambiale di Matrimonio)
08. Bellini - Aria 'Deh! Se un urna' (Beatrice di Tenda)

01. Benedict - The gipsy and the bird
02. Arditi - Parla!
03. Ricci - Io non sono piu l'Annetta (Crispino e la Comare)
04. Tosti - Ideale
05. Arditi - Il Bacio
06. Tosti - La Serenata
07. Leoncavallo - Mattinata
08. Bishop - Lo here the gentle lark
09. Flotow - The last rose of summer (Martha)		play
10. Wallace - Scenes that are brightest (Maritane)
11. Balfe - I dreamt I dwelt (Bohemian Girl)
12. Bishop - Home sweet home

Joan Sutherland - soprano
London Symphony
Richard Bonynge - conductor


This 1991 CD extracts 50 minutes from the 1962 double LP album Command Performance. Also included is a 12-minute excerpt from Sutherland's 1969 studio recording of Meyerbeer's Les Huguenots. All of this album shows Dame Joan singing excellently. The only snag is that most of this repertoire doesn't really show off her strengths. The excerpts from Oberon, Le Cid, I Pagliacci, I masnardieri, and Luisa Miller, while engaging, give only glimmers of the magic Sutherland could bring to music. The Shadow Song from Meyerbeer's Dinaorah is rather nice though. The best arias are "Come tacer... Vorri spiegarvi il giubilo" from Rossini's La cambiale di matrimonio and "Eccomi pronta... Deh, se un'urna," the finale of Bellini's Beatrice di Tenda. The latter was excellent enough to be included on Decca's 2001 2CD tribute to Sutherland's work: La Stupenda ~ The Supreme Voice of Joan Sutherland. The concluding scene from Les Huguenots is pleasant, particularly the lovely quartet portion. Overall, I would say that all but Sutherland's most dedicated admirers can safely pass this album by. The best track, the Beatrice excerpt available on "La Stupenda," should be enough to satisfy the general collector. ---Aronne

download:  uploaded anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega filecloudio nornar


Last Updated (Thursday, 16 January 2014 14:37)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 289 guests
Content View Hits : 226502913