Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Lyapunov Sergei Sergei Lyapunov – Piano Sextet In B-flat Minor Op.63 (2003)

Sergei Lyapunov – Piano Sextet In B-flat Minor Op.63 (2003)

User Rating: / 0

Sergei Lyapunov – Piano Sextet In B-flat Minor Op.63 (2003)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Allegro maestoso 	10:53 	
2. Scherzo. Allegro vivace 	5:12		play
3. Nocturne 	12:28
4. Finale. Allegro risoluto 	8:59

- John Thwaites - piano
- Leon Bosch – double bass
- Dante Quartet


Sergei Lyapunov, a Russian composer and pianist, who was born in 1850 and died in 1924.

This Piano Sextet is a significant chamber music work of Lyapunov’s composition library. It was composed in 1915 and later revised in 1921. In 1893, when Lyapunov was still a professor of piano at the Petersburg Conservatory, he was commissioned to collect folksongs from the northern provinces of the Russian empire, together with Liadov and Balakirev. Other piano sextets of similar instrumentations include Mendelssohn and Glinka’s sextets. This sextet was composed in four distinct movements, and it’s scored for piano, 2 violins, viola, cello and double bass.

Allegro mastoso, the first movement that is big and impressive. It begins with a loud impact. The first theme appears as a light-hearted folk melody but the music soon develops itself into one which is of much emotional intensity before the arrival of the second theme.

The second movement Scherzo, allegro vivace is sparkling and jovial, and it fully exhibits the contrast with the beautifully flowing but slow movement that comes next.

The third movement Nocturne, is slow, sensuous and soulful. It is also beautifully flowing and extremely romantic. It was utterly moving at the point when the other instruments reached out to fetch the charming solo cello.

The finale, Allegro risoluto, The coda had cast a generally strong impact with both themes battling out for domination. The powerful rhythm is aggressive, yet impressive. ---Boon Sin Ler

download: uploaded yandex anonfiles 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega filecloudio nornar


Last Updated (Thursday, 06 February 2014 17:28)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 207 guests
Content View Hits : 206925377