Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Debussy Claude Claude Debussy - Preludes arranged for Orchestra (2010)

Claude Debussy - Preludes arranged for Orchestra (2010)

User Rating: / 0

Claude Debussy - Preludes arranged for Orchestra (2010)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Brouillards (Book II, No.1)
2. Ce qu’a vu le vent d’Ouest (I, 7)
3. Minstrels (I, 12)
4. Canope (II, 10)
5. Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l’air du soir (I,4)
6. La Puerta del Vino (II, 3)
7. Général Lavine – excentric (II, 6)
8. Feuilles mortes (II, 2)
9. Les tierces alternées (II, 11)
10. La danse de Puck (I, 11)
11. Le vent dans la plaine (I, 3)
12. La fille aux cheveux de lin (I, 8)

1. Danseuse de Delphes (Book I, 1)
2. La sérénade interrompue (I, 9)
3. Des pas sur la neige (I, 6)
4. ‘Les fées sont d’exquises danseuses’ (II, 4)
5. Voiles (I,2 )
6. Hommage à S. Pickwick Esq., P.P.M.P.C. (II, 9)
7. La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune (II, 7)
8. Bruyères (II, 5)
9. Ondine (II, 8)
10. Les collines d’Anacapri (I, 5)
11. Feux d’artifice (II, 12)
12. La cathédrale engloutie (I, 10)

Colin Matthews
13. Postlude: Monsieur Croche

Hallé Orchestra
Colin Matthews - Arranger, Composer, Producer
Mark Elder - Conductor


Musical literalists may not be pleased with Colin Matthews' free orchestral arrangements of the 24 movements of Debussy's two books of Préludes pour le piano; this is certainly not the equivalent of Ravel's faithful orchestration of Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition. Fans of impressionist orchestral music and some fans of the piano originals, though, may well experience a thrill, as if a lost Debussy orchestral piece had been rediscovered. Matthews has a consummate, almost uncanny understanding of Debussy's orchestrational style, and the occasional sonorities that betray the work's modern provenance clearly sound like intentional artistic decisions and not miscalculations. Debussy was a composer whose language and orchestration were always evolving, and it requires no stretch whatsoever to imagine that these orchestrations could have been his own. Listeners who know the piano preludes will be fascinated to hear the ways in which Matthews has reimagined them, sometimes even adding material, extending their length, and altering note values to make the music fit the orchestral idiom with complete naturalness. Matthews reorders the preludes, mixing the two books, opening with Brouillards, the first prelude from the second book and ending the set with a gorgeous, grand, radiant version of La cathédrale engloutie. He also adds an original postlude, titled Monsieur Croche (the composer's pen name as a music critic), which he describes as being closer to Debussy's style than he had "intended or expected." The commissioners of the arrangement, Mark Elder and the Hallé Orchestra, perform it with luminous transparency and idiomatic sensitivity to roots in Impressionism. The sound is clean, clear, and present. Highly recommended. --- Stephen Eddins, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @ kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire uloz.to cloudmailru gett



Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 300 guests
Content View Hits : 226449536