Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Mendelssohn Felix Mendelssohn: Concerto for Piano and Violin - Concerto for Violin and Strings (1995)

Mendelssohn: Concerto for Piano and Violin - Concerto for Violin and Strings (1995)

User Rating: / 1

Mendelssohn: Concerto for Piano and Violin - Concerto for Violin and Strings (1995)

Concerto for Violin, Piano and Strings in D Minor
1.   	I. Allegro 00:17:54
2.   	II. Adagio 00:09:22
3.   	III. Allegro molto 00:09:08

Concerto for Violin and Strings in D Minor
4.   	I. Allegro 00:08:18
5.   	II. Andante 00:09:15
6.   	III. Allegro 00:03:49

Gerardo Ribeiro - violin
Pedro Burmester - piano
Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa
Miguel Graça Moura – conductor


The Concerto for Violin and String Orchestra in D minor was composed by Felix Mendelssohn at the age of thirteen. Yehudi Menuhin, the violin virtuoso and former prodigy himself, was first shown the manuscript of the concerto in the spring of 1951 in London by Albi Rosenthal, an amateur violinist and rare books dealer who had heard Menuhin in his first concert in Munich. On 4 February 1952, Menuhin introduced the concerto to a Carnegie Hall audience with a "string Band", conducting the concerto from the violin.

Felix Mendelssohn made his mark as a pianist and composer in his teenage years, and his Concerto for violin, piano and strings in D minor directly illustrates that point. Composed when Mendelssohn was 14, the concerto was intended as vehicle for his violin teacher, Eduard Ritz, and himself, and it was ostensibly inspired by a concerto for the same solo instruments by Johann Nepomuk Hummel, his composition teacher. This is clearly the work of an enthusiastic virtuoso with a lot to show off and express, and despite Mendelssohn's studious imitation of Bach in the opening theme, he found his own voice from the entrance of the piano and violin and worked out his themes in an ingenious mix of Baroque, Classical, and Romantic styles.

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega filecloudio nornar


Last Updated (Friday, 21 February 2014 14:37)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 282 guests
Content View Hits : 225881056