Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Rachmaninov Sergei Rachmaninov – Cello Sonata Op.19 (2001)

Rachmaninov – Cello Sonata Op.19 (2001)

User Rating: / 0

Rachmaninov – Cello Sonata Op.19 (2001)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1. Lento – Allegro moderato
2. Allegro scherzando
3. Andante
4. Allegro mosso

Aleth Lamasse (cello),
Daria Hovora (piano).


The Cello Sonata was completed soon after Rachmaninov graduated from the Conservatory. As typical of sonatas in the Romantic period, it has four movements. Rachmaninoff disliked calling it a cello sonata because he thought the two instruments were equal. Because of this, it is often referred to as Sonata in G Minor for Cello and Piano. Most of the themes are introduced by the piano, while they are embellished and expanded in the cello's part.

He dedicated it to Anatoliy Brandukov, who gave the first performance in Moscow with the composer at the piano, on 2 December 1901. Rachmaninoff seems to have made some last-minute alterations after the premiere, as he wrote the date "12 December 1901" on the score.

The sonata was overshadowed by the huge success of his second piano concerto, which premiered on 27 October 1901.

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega filecloudio nornar gett ziddu


Last Updated (Saturday, 29 March 2014 10:10)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 467 guests
Content View Hits : 230458991