Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Stravinsky Igor Igor Stravinsky – The Works for Violin and Piano (2011)

Igor Stravinsky – The Works for Violin and Piano (2011)

User Rating: / 0

Igor Stravinsky – The Works for Violin and Piano (2011)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.


Suite d'après des thèmes, fragments et morceaux de Giambatista Pergolesi
1. I. Introductione
2. II. Serenata
3. III. Tarantella
4. IV. Gavotta con due variazioni
5. V. Scherzino
6. VI. Minuetto e Finale

7. Le baiser de la fée: Ballade
8. Petrushka: Danse russe
9. Mavra:Chanson russe
10. Pastorale

Le baiser de la fée: Divertimento
11. I. Sinfonia
12. II. Danses suisses
13. III. Scherzo
14. IV. Pas de deux


Duo concertant
1. I. Cantilène
2. II. Églogue I
3. III. Églogue II
4. IV. Gigue
5. V. Dithyrambe

6. Tango
7. Élégie
8. L'oiseau de feu: Prélude et ronde des princesses
9. L'oiseau de feu: Berceuse
10. L'oiseau de feu: Scherzo
11. La Marseillaise (Rouget de Lisle)

12. Le rossignol: Airs du rossignol
13. Le rossignol: Marche chinoise

Isabelle van Keulen – violin
Olli Mustonen – piano


As Brahms had Joachim and Britten had Rostropovich, so, too, did Igor Stravinsky have a significant relationship with a performer who inspired an abundance of music. In Stravinsky's case, it was violinist Samuel Dushkin; the two collaborated together as performers, which resulted in the arrangement of several of Stravinsky's works for violin and piano. It also yielded the masterful and surprisingly lyrical Duo Concertante. The complete works for violin and piano fill two discs on this Newton Classics album featuring violinist Isabelle van Keulen and pianist Olli Mustonen. Equally at home playing standard repertoire as lesser-known modern works, and on the viola as well as the violin, Van Keulen offers up some dazzling, nicely stylized performances of Stravinsky and Dushkin's collaborations. Her playing is fiery and brazen while still delivering some warm subtlety when called for in the score. The lyrical moments in Stravinsky's writing are played with a beautiful legato sound and effortless shifts. The well-known Suite Italienne is performed with moments of austere elegance, breathtaking beauty, and flashiness. Van Keulen and Mustonen form an exceptionally tight-knit ensemble wherein pacing, dynamics, balance, and musical intent are completely unified. Originally recorded in 1987-1988, Newton's sound on this is disc is admirably clean and simple. --- Mike D. Brownell

download: uploaded yandex anonfiles 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega filecloudio nornar



Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 202 guests
Content View Hits : 176982201