Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Jazz Doug Munro Doug Munro & La Pompe Attack - The Harry Warren Songbook (2017)

Doug Munro & La Pompe Attack - The Harry Warren Songbook (2017)

User Rating: / 0

Doug Munro & La Pompe Attack - The Harry Warren Songbook (2017)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Lullaby Of Broadway (3:32)
02. (I've Got A Gal In) Kalamazoo (2:44)
03. Serenade In Blue (6:07)
04. Nagasaki (3:37)
05. Jeepers Creepers (3:17)
06. I Only Have Eyes For You (4:35)
07. Chattanooga Choo Choo (4:29)
08. The More I See You (6:08)
09. September In The Rain (4:54)
10. Blues For Harry (3:30)
11. Forty Second Street (3:54)
12. We're In The Money (2:43)
13. Boulevard Of Broken Dreams (4:04)
14. You Again (3:16)
15. You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby (2:35)
16. At Last (6:58)

Doug Munro, Howard Alden, Vinny Raniolo, Ernesto Pugliese, Ted Gottsegen - guitar
Andrei Matorin, Howie Bujese - violin 
Matt Dwonszyk, Michael Goetz – bass


Harry was a music writer, a melody writer…I love it, I love what you did and I love the style of music…Harry liked that style of music. I’m sorry he isn’t here to listen to your wonderful take on his songs. He would have really enjoyed it, he would have really enjoyed your style too. And he would have loved that you are a family member and his nephew, actually. I think the amazing part of Harry’s music is that it is everlasting. The legacy of Harry Warren is very far reaching, people are humming these tunes all over the world. He was extremely humble, he never took anything for granted. He was grateful and he always felt that his talent was God given. I’m so happy to have you and this wonderful album that you’ve created as a part of Harry’s legacy. ---Julia Riva (Harry Warren’s granddaughter), cdbaby.com


Doug Munro is the great nephew of Harry Warren who was the first major American songwriter to compose specifically for films. All the tunes on this CD are from movies with the exception of two Munro originals, "Blues For Harry" and "You Again" and barring those two and "Nagasaki," were all written in the 1930s and 1940s.

The music is played in the swinging style of The Quintet Of The Hot Club Of France, whose most famous stars, Django Reinhardt and Stephane Grappelli, were surely the greatest innovators of this genre. The recordings were organised in four sessions between June and August 2016, with notable guitarist Howard Alden present on "Serenade In Blue" and "Lullaby Of Broadway."

"Nagasaki" and "We're In The Money" include vocals copying a megaphone style of singing that do nothing to improve the songs and might well irritate. "Chatanooga Choo Choo" is fun and the ensemble arrangement of three guitars is rather effective. "The More I See You" contains some good swirling guitar soloing.

There's a nice, rather touching (albeit surprising) nod to Jimi Hendrix on "September In The Rain" where the last few bars emulate the ending of Hendrix's "The Wind Cries Mary." "You Must Have Been A Beautiful Baby" fairly cracks along and is a reminder of just how many memorable and successful songs Warren wrote. He actually composed over eight hundred! The closer is "At Last" which opens with some delicate harmonics and solo guitar. This is a pleasant session of well-loved tunes. It isn't groundbreaking, but then that wasn't the intention, rather to revere the memory of one of the most prodigious contributors to the great American songbook. ---Roger Farbey, allaboutjazz.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire uloz.to cloudmailru ge.tt




Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 345 guests
Content View Hits : 180765104