Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Rock, Metal Mike Oldfield Mike Oldfield – QE2 (1980)

Mike Oldfield – QE2 (1980)

User Rating: / 0

Mike Oldfield – QE2 (1980)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Taurus 1 (Mike Oldfield) – 10:16
02. Sheba (Oldfield) – 3:31
03. Conflict (Oldfield) – 2:48
04. Arrival (Benny Andersson, Björn Ulvaeus) – 2:45
05. Wonderful Land (Jerry Lordan) – 3:36
06. Mirage (Oldfield) – 4:39
07. QE2 (Oldfield, David Hentschel) – 7:38
08. Celt (Oldfield, Tim Cross) – 3:02
09. Molly (Oldfield) – 1:13

- Mike Oldfield – mandolin, bass guitar, synthesizers, banjo, Celtic harp, drum machine, timpani, electric guitars, bass pedals,
 piano, claptrap, vocoder, syndrums, chair, African drums, Spanish guitar, Aboriginal rhythm sticks, marimbas, vibraphone, vocals
- Phil Collins – drums (01,02)
- Mike Frye – African drums (01,03,08), vocoder (06), drums (06), timpani (08), Hi-Hat (08)
- Maggie Reilly – vocals (01,02,03,04,08)
- David Hentschel – synthesizers (01,04), drums (04), vocals (04), horn arrangement (06), CS80 steel drums (07), synthesised French horn (07)
- Tim Cross – piano (03), synthesizers (03)
- Morris Pert – drums (03)
- Strings and choir arranged by David Bedford (04,05,07)
- Dick Studt – strings (04,05,07)
- Choir English Chorale – vocals (04)
- Guy Barker – trumpet (06)
- Raul D'Olivera – trumpet (06)
- Paul Nieman – trombone (06)
- Phil Todd – tenor saxophone (06)


WOW! The Mike Oldfield's music of the 80's has crystal clear sonorities and many pleasant modern keyboards textures; QE2 belongs to this music category. "Taurus 1" is very progressive, melodic, full of charming and childlike keyboards. Less than on the "Five miles out" album, there are some electronically modified voices a la Wendy Carlos (Clockwork Orange). Mike's omnipresent electric guitar solos are more melodic than ever: his sound is well crafted, and he does not really uses electric rhythmic guitar as on "Five miles out". Maggie Reilly's delightful and sublime voice occurs many times, especially on the soothing "Sheba". "Conflict" has very melodic textures. "Arrival" has an interesting traditional music style.

The other side contains some very good & original horns and strings arrangements. There are some delicate & sublime vibraphone and banjo/mandoline parts. The "QE2" track is the best one on this album: very enchanted, charming and childlike, it has memorable, melodic and pleasant moments, especially the brilliant combination of bagpipes-electric guitar! Again, on "Celt", Maggie Reilly's chant is very pleasant and addictive. The last track, the beautiful lullaby "Molly", full of tender and delicate guitars, was probably made for Mike's daughter. Finally, this is among the best records made by Mike Oldfield. ---greenback, progarchives.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto cloudmailru gett



Last Updated (Thursday, 02 August 2018 12:38)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 304 guests
Content View Hits : 185105487