Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Rock, Metal Gillan Gillan ‎– Future Shock (1981/2012)

Gillan ‎– Future Shock (1981/2012)

User Rating: / 0

Gillan ‎– Future Shock (1981/2012)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	Future Shock 	3:06
2 	Nightride Out Of Phoenix 	5:04
3 	(The Ballad Of) The Lucitania Express 	3:10
4 	No Laughing In Heaven	4:56
5 	Sacre Bleu 	3:02
6 	New Orleans	2:37
7 	Bite The Bullet 	4:49
8 	If I Sing Softly 	6:09
9 	Don't Want The Truth 	5:40
10 	For Your Dreams 	5:04
11 	One For The Road	3:00
12 	Bad News	3:04
13 	Take A Hold Of Yourself		4:40
14 	M.A.D.		3:09
15 	The Maelstrom (Longer Than The A Side)	5:07
16 	Trouble		2:37
17 	Your Sister's On My List	4:05
18 	Handles On Her Hips		2:09
19 	Higher And Higher	3:42
20 	I Might As Well Go Home (Mystic)	2:19	

Bass – John McCoy
Drums – Mick Underwood
Guitar – Bernie Tormé
Keyboards – Colin Towns
Vocals – Ian Gillan 


Ah, Gillan. Fronted of course by (then) ex and now current Deep Purple singer Ian Gillan. Born out of the jazz fusion (yes, you read that right) of the Ian Gillan Band, Gillan shone bright and fast over the glory days of the classic new wave of British heavy metal period.

Always put on a storming show as well as a few nights at the good old Sheffield City Hall bear testament to. Can’t recall which tours I was them on but probably Glory Road and Future Shock. Pretty sure the tour programmes are up in the loft somewhere. Might go have a look after posting this – who knows what I’ll find…….

So – back to Gillan. The band consisted of the one and only Mr John McCoy on the bass, Colin Towns on the keys, drummer Mick Underwood and the excellent (and with a somewhat unique sound) Bernie Torme on guitar.

Mr Universe appeared all the way back in 1979 as their debit and saw some instant success though it failed to save their record company from going belly up. In stepped Virgin records with a new deal just as NWOBHM was taking off and the group’s popularity grew. Mr Universe was followed up in 1980 with Glory Road which was even more successful. I think I had that album once.

But for me the timeless classic of Gillan’s output was what came next – the monumental Future Shock. Even now I can remember buying that one Friday afternoon from a branch of Bradleys in Sheffield. The amazing cover and the sci-fi influenced prints in the inner cover booklet type thingy. Man, if this sounds as good as it looks when I get home I’ll be very happy. And it did…..

Title track Future Shock kicks you right in the ‘nads – it’s brutal. The Lucitania Express will have you shouting out the chorus and the hit (yes, they were on Top of the Pops) single No Laughing will give you a smirk with it’s lyrics and pseudo-rap. There’s not a weak point anywhere with everything top notch. It’s heavy, melodic, well crafted and never bettered by anything Gillan did with this band or any other.

Sadly however Future Shock did mark the beginning of the end. Money issues became more of an, er, issue and people became somewhat disgruntled to say the least. Torme left and was replaced by ex White Spirit guitarist Janick Gers who would later find fame with Iron Maiden. Gillan plus Gers released two albums – Double Trouble and their finale – Magic but that was the end of the road after the tour to promote Magic.

A short but memorable career for the band with surely Future Shock being the legacy. Seriously recommend getting it yourself for a taste of not only the NWOBHM era but also for what it is – an absolute classic from a bloke associated by most with Deep Purple. I think Future Shock is better….! ---newwaveofbritishheavymetal.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire uloz.to gett




Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 239 guests
Content View Hits : 220034759