Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Rock, Metal Elvis Presley Elvis Presley – Elvis (1956)

Elvis Presley – Elvis (1956)

User Rating: / 0

Elvis Presley – Elvis (1956)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Rip It Up (Robert Blackwell, John Marascalco) – 1:53
02. Love Me (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) – 2:41
03. When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again (Wiley Walker, Gene Sullivan) – 2:19
04. Long Tall Sally (Enotris Johnson) – 1:51
05. First In Line (Aaron Schroeder, Ben Weisman) – 3:21
06. Paralyzed (Otis Blackwell, Elvis Presley) – 2:21
07. So Glad You’re Mine (Arthur Crudup) – 2:19
08. Old Shep (Red Foley)  – 4:08
09. Ready Teddy (Robert Blackwell, John Marascalco) – 1:54
10. Anyplace Is Paradise (Joe Thomas) – 2:24
11. How’s The World Treating You (Chet Atkins, Boudleaux Bryant) – 2:22
12. How Do You Think I Feel (Wiley Walker, Webb Pierce) – 2:09

– Elvis Presley – vocals, rhythm guitar, piano (05,06,08)
– Scotty Moore – lead guitar
– Gordon Stoker – piano
– Shorty Long – piano (07)
– Bill Black – double bass
– D.J. Fontana – drums
– The Jordanaires – backing vocals


If Elvis isn't quite as important historically as the Elvis Presley album that preceded it, that's only because it came second -- musically, it's a more confident and bolder work than his debut, and in any other artist's output it would have been considered a crowning achievement. At the sessions for his first album, the singer and all concerned were treading into unmapped territory and not sure what they were doing or if they were ready for it -- by September of 1956, when the three days of sessions behind the Elvis album took place, he was on top, a national phenomenon of a kind that hadn't been seen in music since Frank Sinatra a dozen years earlier, and he had some more experience recording. And with that confidence came better singing. The songs here were, for the most part, material that he knew well, with one new submission by Otis Blackwell. He slides through them seemingly effortlessly, transforming the 1940s country number "When My Blue Moon Turns to Gold Again" into a smooth rocker; roaring through the Little Richard numbers "Long Tall Sally," "Ready Teddy," and "Rip It Up"; returns to his blues roots with a killer rendition of Arthur Crudup's "I'm So Glad You're Mine" (a leftover, amazingly enough, from his first RCA session); and shows how refined his voice was becoming on the ballad "First in Line" and the sentimental favorite "Old Shep." The Elvis album was reissued in 1999 with vastly improved sound and eight bonus tracks from the same and chronologically adjoining recording sessions, including the singles "Hound Dog," "Don't Be Cruel," and "Anyway You Want Me," and that is the version to own on CD. --- Bruce Eder, allmusic.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire cloudmailru



Last Updated (Tuesday, 06 February 2018 16:46)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 157 guests
Content View Hits : 105908258