Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Strona Główna Blues Paul Butterfield The Paul Butterfield Blues Band - An Anthology: The Elektra Years (1997)

The Paul Butterfield Blues Band - An Anthology: The Elektra Years (1997)

Ocena użytkowników: / 0

The Paul Butterfield Blues Band - An Anthology: The Elektra Years (1997)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

CD 1
01. Born In Chicago 
02. Lovin' Cup 
03. One More Mile 
04. Off The Wall 
05. Come On In 
06. Nut Popper #1 
07. Ain't No Need To Go No Further, It's Too Late Brother 
08. Born In Chicago 
09. Shake Your Money Maker 
10. Blues With A Feeling 
11. Thank You Mr. Poobah 
12. Our Love Is Driftin' 
13. Mystery Train 
14. Last Night 
15. Walkin' Blues 
16. I Got A Mind To Give Up Living 
17. Work Song 
18. All These Blues 
19. East West

CD 2
01. One More Heartache 
02. Double Trouble 
03. Last Hope's Gone 
04. Mornin' Blues 
05. Just To Be With You 
06. Get Yourself Together 
07. In My Own Dream 
08. Love March 
09. Walkin' By Myself 
10. Love Disease 
11. Everything's Gonna Be Alright 
12. Driftin' & Driftin' 
13. Blind Leading The Blind 
14. Song For Lee

Bass – Jerome Arnold, Bugsy Maugh, Rod Hicks 
Drums, Percussion – Sam Lay, Billy Davenport, Phillip Wilson, George Davidson, Dennis Whitted
Guitar – Elvin Bishop, Buzz Feiten, Ralph Walsh 
Lead Vocals, Harmonica [Harp] – Paul Butterfield 
Organ, Piano – Mike Bloomfield, Mark Naftalin, Al Kooper, Ted Harris
Tenor Saxophone – Gene Dinwiddie
Trumpet – Keith Johnson, Steve Madaio
Alto Saxophone – David Sanborn
Baritone Saxophone – Trevor Lawrence


One of the most attractive things about An Anthology is the inclusion of some of the band's earliest recordings for the label, most of which were long thought to have been lost and wouldn't be rediscovered and released until the mid-1990s. The blistering first take of the band's signature "Born In Chicago," originally released on an Elektra Records folk compilation in 1965, showcases Butterfield's high-flying harp skills; by contrast, the version of the Nick Gravenites song that would appear on the band's debut album later that year, recorded with guitarist Mike Bloomfield, would sound much different with his participation as a full band member.

In fact, the first seven songs on An Anthology feature a four-piece version of the Paul Butterfield Blues Band with Bloomfield provided no more than a token participation. These sessions, recorded in 1964, provide a blueprint to the band's later success. Songs such as Butterfield's original, hard-driving "Lovin' Cup," offer the harp player's soulful vocals and blasts of harp tethered to reality only by the band's sturdy rhythm section. Bishop's searing solos here, and on the following cover of James Cotton's "One More Mile," are wiry, taut, and sting like an arrow to the heart. The uncharacteristic "Come On In," one of the band's first single releases, sounds less like the Southside of Chicago and more like the British blues emanating from dreary London town. --- Reverend Keith A. Gordon, blues.about.com

download: uploaded anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega filecloudio



Zanim ściągniesz jakikolwiek plik, musisz przeczytać i zaakceptować nasz

Jeśli jesteś artystą lub agentem i chciałbyś by Twoja muzyka została usunięta
z naszej strony, proszę napisz do nas na
i usuniemy ją jak najszybciej.

Który gatunek muzyczny najchętniej chciałbyś u nas widzieć?
Teraz na stronie:
  • 240 gości
Łączna liczba odwiedzin :