Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Desprez Josquin Josquin Desprez - Stabat Mater, Motets (Herreweghe) [1992]

Josquin Desprez - Stabat Mater, Motets (Herreweghe) [1992]

User Rating: / 0

Josquin Desprez - Stabat Mater, Motets (Herreweghe) [1992]

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 Ave Maria 4'38
2 Stabat mater dolorosa 7'56
3 Salve Regina 3'54
4 Ave nobilissima creatura 8'34
5 O bone et dulcissime Jesu 5'33
6 Usquequo, Domine, oblivisceris me 7'11
7 Miserere mei, Deus 15'19

La Chapelle Royale
Philippe Herreweghe – conductor


"Josquin fans must be wondering why their luck has so suddenly turned. It is not just that new and good records of his music now seem to be appearing almost monthly. Nor even that musicians and ensembles—like Philippe Herreweghe and La Chapelle Royale—who have hitherto concentrated on somewhat later music are apparently turning to Josquin, whose music they perform with individuality and seriousness of purpose. It is also that they are concentrating on some of his finest achievements: here, for example, we have not only the miraculous Miserere—the work that the late Edward Lowinsky regarded as music's answer to the Sistine Chapel ceiling—but the six voice Ave nobilissima creatura, the Stabat mater and the psalm Usquequo, Domine.

[La Chapelle Royale] are heard at their best in the four-voice Salve, regina, where the lines run excitingly and each phrase emerges gloriously from the last. Another excellent performance is Usquequo, Domine, where the (perhaps surprising) decision to choose a lower pitch-standard allows Herreweghe to dispense with his sopranos, thereby displaying the superb control of his altos and particularly his low basses. But I shall probably return to the record most often for the Miserere, where Herreweghe secures the blend of precision and passion that is so necessary if this most extraordinary of works is to make its impact." ---Gramophone [4/1987], arkivmusic.com

download:  uploaded anonfiles yandex 4shared solidfiles mediafire mega filecloudio


Last Updated (Sunday, 27 October 2013 13:04)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 318 guests
Content View Hits : 157366685