Feel the Blues with all that Jazz
English (United Kingdom)Polish (Poland)
Home Classical Spohr Louis Spohr - Violin Concertos Nos. 1, 14, 15 (2000)

Spohr - Violin Concertos Nos. 1, 14, 15 (2000)

User Rating: / 0

Spohr - Violin Concertos Nos. 1, 14, 15 (2000)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01] Violinkonzert Nr. 14 a-moll op. 110 - Concertino 'Sonst und jetzt'
02] Violinkonzert Nr. 15 e-moll op. 128 - 1. Allegro
03] Violinkonzert Nr. 15 e-moll op. 128 - 2. Larghetto
04] Violinkonzert Nr. 15 e-moll op. 128 - 3. Rondo grazioso
05] Violinkonzert Nr. 1 A-dur op. 1 - 1. Allegro vivace
06] Violinkonzert Nr. 1 A-dur op. 1 - 2. Siciliano
07] Violinkonzert Nr. 1 A-dur op. 1 - 3. Polonaise

Ulf Hoelscher - violin
Rundfunk Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Christian Fröhlich – conductor


During his lifetime the music of Louis Spohr aroused such widespread admiration that his contemporaries frequently mentioned his compositions in the same breath as those of Beethoven. Subsequent generations, however, have taken a much more sober view of his achievement. For instance, out of his 15 numbered violin concertos, only the Eighth, conceived in the rather unconventional form of an operatic scena, still hovers on the fringes of the repertoire. Yet on the evidence of Ulf Hoelscher’s invaluable series for CPO, the almost total neglect of the other concertos seems unjustified. This latest instalment in the complete cycle maintains the impressive standards set in previous recordings. Hoelscher demonstrates a formidable mastery of Spohr’s technically challenging passagework, although his efforts are somewhat undermined by the recessed sound of the orchestra. The music itself is attractive and melodious, without plumbing great emotional depths. Nonetheless, it is fascinating to experience a bird’s-eye view of Spohr’s development, from the elegant if somewhat four-square First Concerto to the more sophisticated harmonic and formal structures of the Fourteenth and Fifteenth. Underlying all these works is Spohr’s remarkable constancy of musical language, as well as a reluctance to move with the times – factors which may well have hastened his demise later in the 19th century. ---Erik Levi, classical-music.com

download: uploaded yandex 4shared mediafire solidfiles mega zalivalka filecloudio anonfiles oboom


Last Updated (Tuesday, 13 May 2014 14:32)


Before downloading any file you are required to read and accept the
Terms and Conditions.

If you are an artist or agent, and would like your music removed from this site,
please e-mail us on
and we will remove them as soon as possible.

What music genre would you like to find here the most?
Now onsite:
  • 512 guests
Content View Hits : 238125050